Minimalism and Mindfulness

I am really, really looking forward to this weekend. I’ve been getting pumped up all week. I can hardly wait for 5 o’clock. Am I going on another vacation? No. A fun concert in the city? Nope again. Date night? Not happening.

So why am I so excited for this weekend?? We are seriously, for real, no ifs/ands/buts about it CLEANING HOUSE. I know I said I was doing this a couple of weeks ago – and I did – but this weekend we are doing it on a much, much grander scale. I’m talking…everything must go. On the surface, my husband and I abide by the “simple is best” attitude. We don’t have a lot of knick-knacks strewn about. We are minimalist decorators (the less you have sitting around, the less you have to dust!). We just don’t like to be bombarded with things. However, it’s our dirty little secret that if you look in our closets and storage space area, junk is taking over our lives. I’m sure not all of it is junk…but if we honestly haven’t looked at or used something in 2 years…will we ever need it? Doubtful. So this weekend we are taking a no holds barred approach to de-cluttering and we are going to significantly reduce the amount of possessions we own. And I’m excited as all get out.

I am so excited that I’ve been quietly preparing. No item is safe. Every time I go into a cabinet, closet, or drawer I can’t help but think to myself “can’t wait to get rid of this” bwah hahaha. It feels liberating.

Definitely getting kicked to the curb:

  • Appliances: George Forman grill – haven’t used it since I don’t know when. We have a nice grill and skillets, what more could we need. Quesadilla maker – yes it makes a damn good quesadilla, but once again I could do the same thing in a skillet.
  • Tons of unused kitchen tools – meat tendorizer, all kinds of junk items, old wooden spoons etcetera.
  • Old blankets that take up tons of space – don’t need ’em, haven’t needed ’em in a while. Hello Goodwill!
  • Clothes that don’t fit. And summer clothes are going into a pretty storage container out-of-the-way.
  • Bags – I’m a “bag hag” with both purses and overnight bags. Time to get rid of purses or bags I haven’t used in years. Another great donation to goodwill
  • Tons of old picture frames. Lots are either broken or kind of “juvenile” I want to throw out all the frames and do a better job of organizing my photos.

Stuff I’m not so sure about:

  • Tons of Disney VHS tapes – sure I don’t even own a VHS player, but this is a tough call. I don’t want to get rid of my collection!
  • Wedding dress – this thing is dirty and torn up (hello outside wedding). What will I ever need it for? Yet, I hate to part ways with it.
  • DVDs we don’t ever watch – we have TONS of movies that we have bought used or in the $5 bins at Wally World. And I don’t remember the last time we actually watched a single one. We could at least use to clear out a few that aren’t big hits. Make room for more!!
From now on, when it comes to buying new things, I am going to take a much more mindful approach. One of my New Year Goals was to not waste food and I am going to expand this into all realms of my life and just not waste so much at all. I want to give a lot of thought to the things I need vs want. If I don’t need something, then I shouldn’t buy it. Especially now as we are gearing up for a possible move (to where, who knows!!). The less stuff we have to move, the better and the more money we save to help with the move, the better as well!! So next time I am at Target or Bed Bath & Beyond and I have an urge to pick up something new for my kitchen, I will stop, think, and refrain. I will because I don’t want to just get rid of it in 6 months during the next clean out!!
**Check it out**

 

3 thoughts on “Minimalism and Mindfulness

  1. – Definitely time to get rid of the VHS tapes – all the movies are out on DVD anyways!

    – But as far as your DVDs go I’d be happy to show you a program that will allow you to rip them onto your computer. All movies are going digital so it’s only a matter of time before we’re not buying a physical DVD we’re just downloading straight to our computers or TVs. Ripping DVDs is a big project, kind of like scanning pictures, but it can be worth it if you have some classic movies in your collection you’d like to own.

    – And last but not least, don’t get rid of your wedding dress! We could do a “trash the dress” session for one of your anniversaries sometime! It would be so fun – you could jump in a colorado lake with it on or get pain all over it! whatever! how funny would it be if you did that mud obstacle course thing it in this year – that adventure competition that comes to colorado! i forget what it’s called!

    Just a few thoughts from your cousin 🙂

  2. Good for you! Your lists look exactly like the stuff I need to get rid of too. After a few years, I finally sold my wedding dress on ebay. Afterward, I saw somewhere that I could have had it cut into a shorter dress and dyed. Make it into a cocktail dress! It beats throwing it out, plus you get to re-purpose it. 🙂

  3. Pingback: What a Weekend! « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

