Oats & Quinoa: Two New Recipes

I have two fun, new recipes for you today! I have been a recipe creating machine the past week and each meal seems better than the last. Lucky for me and you.

Banana-Almond Overnight Oats

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2 tsp chia seeds
  • 1 scoop protein powder (optional, if you don’t use this put in less liquid)
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • Sprinkling of sliced almonds
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • Dash of cinnamon and drop of vanilla
  • Stevia or other sweetener, optional

Whisk together oats, chia, protein powder, and milk. Once mixture is well blended add in sliced almonds, banana, seasonings, and sweetener. Mix well. Store in fridge overnight. Stir before serving and add some shredded coconut if desired.

It has been a while since I enjoyed some overnight oats. I really love them more than cooked oats but when it’s 20 degrees out it is hard to get excited about a cold breakfast, which is why I served this with a piping hot latte. The next recipe is so amazing I couldn’t wait to share it with you. I made this last night for dinner and blew myself away. I have made and shared something similar but with no actual recipe. Here it is folks, my new favorite dinner, lunch, snack…forget the oats, can I eat it for breakfast?

The Best Quinoa Salad Ever (no I’m not exaggerating) 

Serves 3-4

Ingredients

  • Carton brussel sprouts
  • 1 cup dry quinoa
  • 1/2 sweet onion, sliced
  • 1/3 cup walnuts, chopped
  • 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1/3 cup dried cranberries
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil, optional
  • Salt & Pepper

Directions

  1. Cut the stems off the brussel sprouts and halve them. Drizzle in a little bit of olive oil (1-2tsp), sprinkle with salt and pepper, and roast in the oven at 400 degrees for 40 minutes, stirring once. Brussel sprouts will be nice and crispy when done. **Try not to eat all of the brussel sprouts before dinner, this will be very hard**
  2. Meanwhile, combine the quinoa in a pot with 2 cups water. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low, and simmer for about 15 minutes or until all the liquid is absorbed. Set aside.
  3. In a large skillet, add 2 tbsp water or broth (I did this to avoid using any more fats). Add in the sliced onion and saute until soft and golden. This was my first time sauteing without oil and though the onion turned out a bit different, it was still delicious.
  4. Once the onion is cooked (about 10 minutes) add in walnuts and chickpeas. Stir for a couple minutes.
  5. Finally, stir in cranberries, 2 cups of cooked quinoa, and brussel sprouts. Toss in the coconut oil (optional, but tasty) and stir until melted. Sprinkle with salt & pepper. Make sure mixture is heated through.

This meal was one of the best I have ever made. I loved it sooo much and can really see myself eating it all of the time. Between the fact that I couldn’t wait to eat it and my less-than-stellar photography skills I didn’t really get a good picture of it but trust me it was as beautiful as it was tasty.


I imagine this dish would be equally as tasty served room temperature. Enjoy by itself or with a side salad. Seriously, make this tonight you will not regret it.

**Check It Out**

Switch from “diet eating” to “healthy eating” from Best Body Fitness
Down Dog Smoothie from Choosing Raw – a perfect post-workout smoothie (no matter what your workout)

11 thoughts on “Oats & Quinoa: Two New Recipes

  1. Pingback: A Day in the LIfe « Mile High Healthy

  2. I finally made the Quinoa salad that you raved about. It was yummy. I made a few changes – didn’t add the chickpeas – wasn’t feeling the “beans”. I used fresh brussell sprouts and just boiled them. I used a rice/spelt/millett/rye grain blend. I loved the dab of coconut oil – the flavours of the grains, brussel sprouts, cranberries and walnuts were amazing! I have leftovers. Yay!

  3. Brussel Sprouts are in season right now, and we are using them in every dish at the restaurant I work at. I wasn’t a fan growing up, or maybe I just thought I wasn’t because I didn’t have them. But now I love them. They have a natural sugar that caramelizes in the pan and makes everything sweet. I can imagine the quinoa salad being equally delicious with a little maple syrup added.

    • I didn’t like brussel sprouts growing up either. But now I can’t get enough! I could eat this dish every single week. Maple syrup could defintely add some great sweetness to the dish. Let me know if you try it.

  4. Pingback: Weekend Wrap-Up « Mile High Healthy

  5. Pingback: Get it in Gear « Mile High Healthy

  6. Just so you know – I made this for my family for my mom’s birthday last night, and it was a HUGE hit!! She had a wonderful birthday dinner because of you, so thank you (: x

  7. Pingback: Quick Veggie Quinoa Bowl « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

