A Day in the LIfe

Heyo Guys! It’s time for my first “day in the life” post. I briefly inquired about this last week and a few people expressed interest so we will see how it goes. It’s nothing fancy, just me sharing my daily eats with you guys so you can get an idea of how delicious vegan foods can be. When most people think of veganism, they assume it is a crazy strict diet for people do don’t like food…as my brother once asked “so what do you just sit around eating heads of lettuce all day?” It is NOT like that at all. In fact, I would surmise to say that most vegans consider their diets to contain a wide variety of foods. I eat more foods as a vegan than I ever did on the standard American diet. I eat almost all vegetables, fruits, all beans, grains, and anything you could imagine. In fact, we all cringe a little when we hear someone describe our eating habits as “strict vegan.” It scares people off. Instead of sitting around feeling sorry for myself about my strict way of eating, I get excited about all of the delicious and nutritious foods I get to eat with abandon. No guilt here…just good for you foods.

A day in the life 1/23

Breakfast: Banana-Almond Overnight Oats sprinkled with coconut; almond milk latte

Lunch: leftover Quinoa Salad (just as amazingly delicious leftover)

Afternoon snack: green apple and handful of pistachios

Dinner: Tofu “Nikko” salad at Tokyo Joe’s (copycat recipe coming soon to a blog near you); 2 vegetable gyoza with a lemongrass basil sauce – not pictured (also really really want to recreate this sauce)

Dessert – dark chocolate candies at the movies

I won’t lie and say that I eat this well every single day. There are definitely days when I snack more or eat vegan junk food and I won’t hesitate to share a day like that with you guys when it happens. Vegan or not, I’m still human and I still struggle with making the best and healthiest choices for my body and mind.

Next up, a little peek into my workout. I have been struggling to get back into a healthy groove after the holidays and vacation melee over here. Sometimes I just can’t get in to a long workout, so I try to get the most out of a short amount of time…enter interval cardio! You could also do this routine on the elliptical by adjusting resistance and speed.

That’s all she wrote folks! Just a quick peek into an average vegan day. Let me know what you think and if you’d like to see this more often. I have previously thought about doing it daily (nothing keeps you more accountable than having to show everyone what you put in your pie-hole) but I’m afraid it would get boring and repetitive…just send me your thoughts!

6 thoughts on “A Day in the LIfe

  1. okay… Tabata is like my new favorite thing… i love this for my super busy lifestyle… Its not an everyday thing, but when i feel like i dont have time to camp out at the gym for an hour and a half i put together a tabata routine at home and go on about my day… GUILT FREE! 🙂

    • Yes! Not only do that really work you out (hello sweat!) but you can always manage 20 minutes. I even use it for strength training and feel like I have worked just as hard after 3 rounds than after a normal weight routine.

Leave a Reply

