BBQ Bean & Grain Bowl

It’s new recipe time!! Things have been crazy busy both at work and at home lately (family dinners, tattoo parties, and tea parties!). Unfortunately I don’t get to lay around all day and snuggle….
…so blog posting has been a bit all over the map lately! I haven’t even been able to catch up on my favorite blogs since last week. I didn’t realize how much a part of my day blogs are because I’m starting to feel so left behind!! I am also definitely behind on recipe posting. This is a recipe I actually made during our Crazy Clean Out 2012 – in fact I think I made 4 or 5 recipes that weekend but have only shared a couple with you. Time to get it in gear! Much like the burrito and sushi bowls, this bowl is more of an idea than a strict recipe. It’s meant to act as inspiration for a healthy, whole foods, vegan meal; simply throw in whatever veggies, beans, or grains you prefer.
BBQ Bean and Grain Bowl
Ingredients
  • 1/2 onion, thinly sliced
  • Fresh green beans
  • 1 large tomato, diced
  • 1/4 head cabbage, shredded
  • 1 can pinto beans
  • BBQ sauce of choice
  • Cooked brown rice Spinach, if desired

Directions 

  1. Cook rice according to package directions.
  2. Meanwhile, prepare your veggies. Heat up a skillet, add a drizzle of olive oil, and saute onions on medium-high heat until slightly browned and crispy.
  3. Once onions are cooked add remaining vegetables and saute for an additional 2-3 minutes.
  4. Mix 1/2 cup BBQ sauce with 1/4 cup water. Add sauce and beans to the skillet. Continue cooking until mixture has thickened.
  5. Serve veggie mix over brown rice and spinach (and an additional drizzle of BBQ sauce, if desired!).


I hope you enjoy this tasty BBQ treat. I will be back tomorrow with February Goals!!

One thought on “BBQ Bean & Grain Bowl

  1. Pingback: Get it in Gear « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

