New Workout & a Banana-Kale Smoothie

Good afternoon! Today I’m bringing you a new workout that I really enjoyed as well as a refreshing post-workout smoothie. While this workout could definitely be done as circuit training, I did it tabata style. I find that tabata is a great way to manage my time when I’m waking up early to workout before I head into the office. It allows me to really push myself and know that I can finish the workout in less than 30 minutes. I was smart this time and opted not to run after the workout! Each workout below (legs, arms, core) was done as its own tabata segment and I repeated them for a total 24 minute workout. While total body moves certainly work very well with tabata, I like to split it up sometimes so I don’t exhaust my body too quickly.

New Workout

Legs:

  • One legged squat on stability disc (can be done without the disc as well)
  • Reverse lunges with knee lift
  • Leg press to the back (wearing ankle weights)
  • Fire hydrant lift

Arms:

  • Alternating bicep curls while balancing on disc (you could create imbalance by simply holding one knee up)
  • Tricep kickbacks
  • Upward Rows
  • Squat to shoulder press (my favorite!)

Core:

  • V-up crunches
  • Russian twist holding heavy weight
  • Crunches with leg raise (lay on your back with one leg straight in the air. as you crunch bring the other leg up to meet it)
  • Side plank raises

Nothing is more refreshing to me after a sweaty workout than a protein smoothie…even in the cold winter here in Colorado! This smoothie is simple and nutritious, my favorite kind of breakfast.

New Smoothie Idea: Banana-Kale

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 scoop brown rice protein powder
  • 2 large handfuls of torn kale leaves
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil (optional)
  • 1 frozen banana
  • Stevia, cinnamon, and vanilla as desired

Blend all ingredients together and serve. Warning: my husband says drinking smoothies with kale makes my breath smell bad (he’s so sweet) so have some gum handy!

And for your viewing pleasure (okay for mine too)…

 

4 thoughts on “New Workout & a Banana-Kale Smoothie

  1. Shelley,
    Tried a recipe for baked kale chips. Found it rather bitter. Looking for a good low cal crunch factor without calories. Am sometimes bored with raw veggies. Any hints ????

    • Unfortunately some people have a predisposition to dislike kale, spinach, and other veggies due to bitterness. Have you tried air-popped popcorn? That is a very low-cal snack option. Or brown rice cakes with hummus spread on top? I usually just snack on fruit and veggies during the day.

  2. Pingback: Fitness Recap 2/19 « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

