Bye Bye Cravings Chickpea Salad from For The Glow (plus a raw variation)

I have a very special post for you today: two great recipes! The raw veggie wraps are an original recipe of mine that I made for myself and my mother-in-law on Superbowl Sunday. A few days later I was thumbing through a recipe collection from For the Glow and noticed an erie resemblance between my wraps and a For the Glow salad. I didn’t purposefully copy it, but I started to wonder if maybe I subconsciously remembered the recipe as I was creating my version?? Just to stay on the safe side I emailed the author and asked if I could share both recipes and she graciously agreed. Jenn is the wonderfully talented and amazing personality behind the Superfood Diet and the blog Everyday Glow (which has a great series on banishing cellulite right now). Not only am I a full Glow Girl, I have participated in the Detox Diet and am currently in the middle of her Fine Tune February program which has great nutritional advice and method workouts. I can’t recommend her enough!

Bye Bye Cravings Chickpea Salad from For the Glow 

Ingredients

  • 1 can chickpeas
  • 2 cups kale, chopped
  • 1/2 cup celery, chopped
  • 1 super crunchy apple, cored and chopped
  • 1/4 cup walnuts, chopped
  • 2 tbsp onion, diced (I used way more of course!)
  • 2 tbsp dried cranberries

Dressing Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup EVOO (I parred it down to 1/4 cup)
  • 2 heaping tbsp sesame tahini
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tbsp raw honey or stevia to taste (I left this out)

Directions:

  1. Prep veggies, throw together in a large bowl
  2. Whisk together dressing ingredients
  3. Pour dressing over veggies and massage in until everything is well coated.

 

Below is the raw version I made for Superbowl Sunday. Notice how similar the 2 recipes are? I guess I know what I like!

Raw Veggie Wraps 

Filling ingredients

  • 1 large carrot, peeled and chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 stalk celery, diced
  • Red onion to taste, diced (I used quite a bit b/c I LOVE onion)
  • 1 apple, diced (any variety, peeled or unpeeled)
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/3 cup dried cranberries

Dressing ingredients

  • 3 heaping tbsp tahini (raw if possible)
  • juice of 1/2 lemon
  • 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar (optional)
  • 2 tbsp water
  • Dash of garlic powder and italian herb seasoning

Directions

  1. Wash and prep all filling ingredients. Mix together in large bowl
  2. For the dressing: whisk together all ingredients, tasting and adjusting seasonings to your preference.
  3. Pour dressing over filling ingredients and mix well to coat (don’t be afraid to get your hands dirty!)
  4. Plop filling onto chard leaves (collard or butter lettuce would also work) and wrap up. I couldn’t get mine to look pretty,  but they still tasted good!

(warning: I could not get these to photograph pretty!)

Do yourself a favor and make either one of these recipes pronto. They would both be great lunch options as they are the kind of salad that actually gets better after sitting in the fridge a few days (just like jambalaya or soup). Serve in lettuce leaves, pita pockets, warmed tortillas, or as a stand-alone salad.

8 thoughts on “Bye Bye Cravings Chickpea Salad from For The Glow (plus a raw variation)

  1. Sauted all of the above ingredients plus cabbage – put it over couscous. Was wonderful! My intention was to make a salad but I was freezing and couldn’t bring myself to eat raw veggies.

  2. Pingback: Daily Vegan Eats 2/27 « Mile High Healthy

  3. Pingback: Daily Vegan Eats 3/5 « Mile High Healthy

  4. Pingback: Daily #Vegan Eats 3/15 « Mile High Healthy

  5. Pingback: Vlog: How to Make a Kale Salad « Mile High Healthy

  6. Pingback: Get it in Gear « Mile High Healthy

  7. Pingback: Two years of blogging: my favorites so far | Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

