Good Morning Oats

I am on a mission. A clean-eating mission. Over the weekend, I read a new book that has me really inspired. It is the Eat Clean Diet by Tosca Reno (I found it through reading Oxygen Magazine). While Reno does promote eating a lot of animal products (protein, protein, protein), it is more the philosophy of the diet than its actual contents that inspired me. The diet is based on eating foods as close to their natural state as possible…aka “clean” foods. It is always my mission to eat less junk and more whole foods, but admittedly I do stray from this occasionally (gasp!). The diet also emphasizes smaller meals spaced throughout the day (breakfast, lunch, dinner, and snacks). This is something I could use more work with as I tend to be a “3 squares” plus a few snacks kind of eater. I want to start making a point of downsizing my main meals a bit and making sure to eat quality snacks for fuel in between. I am going to experiment with this eating style throughout the week….I will let you know how it goes!

I woke up this morning and created an oatmeal bowl that I’m sure would receive Eat Clean approval.

Strawberry-Banana Good Morning Oats

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1 cup water
  • 4-5 strawberries, sliced
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • Drop vanilla extract and dash cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp ground flaxseed
  • Sprinkling of sliced almonds
  • Dash of almond milk

Directions

  1. Combine oats, water, vanilla, and cinnamon in a pot on the stove. Cook over low heat until most of the liquid is absorbed.
  2. Stir in sliced strawberries and bananas and heat through.
  3. Serve topped with ground flaxseed, sliced almonds, and a little almond milk.

I will be back later with a Daily Eats post. Happy Monday all!

5 thoughts on “Good Morning Oats

  1. Pingback: Daily Eats 2/20 « Mile High Healthy

  2. Pingback: Daily Vegan Eats 2/22 « Mile High Healthy

  3. Pingback: Easy Vegan Breakfasts « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

