Banana Bread Overnight Oats

Wow, I predicted it yesterday but I am SO SORE today. The chest flyes have my armpits screaming and the curtsy lunges and deadlifts have my thighs and hammies a bit sore as well. But like the poster says, I’d rather be sore than sorry.

On a more exciting note (food!), t’s no surprise that I am a fan of oatmeal. If you have seen my Daily Eats posts from the past week, you know oatmeal is a reoccurring theme. I love hot oats right now as it is still very cold in the mornings here, but I also really enjoy a bowl of cold overnight oats now and then. I try to mix up my oatmeal flavors so as not to get bored from day-to-day. I have previously made apple-cinnamon overnight oats (like apple crisp!), carrot cake overnight oats, and even pumpkin pie overnight oats.  Needless to say, I let baked goods be an inspiration for new creations and this morning’s oats were inspired by one of my most beloved baked goods…banana bread. You can serve these cold as the recipe calls for or I do believe they would make a delicious warm bowl of oats as well. E

Banana Bread Overnight Oats

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup rolled oats
  • 1-2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (I use vegan+raw)
  • Packet stevia, optional
  • A few dashes of cinnamon
  • Dash of nutmeg
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • Drop vanilla extract
  • 1 banana, sliced
  • 1-2 tbsp walnuts, chopped

Directions

  1. Combine dry ingredients in a mason jar, mix well.
  2. Add almond milk and vanilla, close the lid, and shake vigorously until everything is blended together (or you can whisk together in tupperware, but I have found it is so much easier and quicker to shake in a jar…the protein powder takes forever to whisk!)
  3. Add in sliced banana and walnuts and refrigerate overnight.

Combine ingredients and shake well

Store overnight in fridge

Eat straight out of the jar if you are on-the-go

Or serve with extra walnuts and a splash of almond milk

Back tonight with a new Daily Eats posts…I’m sure you can guess what I had for breakfast today!

4 thoughts on “Banana Bread Overnight Oats

  1. Pingback: Daily Vegan Eats 2/27 « Mile High Healthy

  2. Pingback: Easy Vegan Breakfasts « Mile High Healthy

  3. Just wanted to let you know your recipe is the only one I trust…I’ve only recently started eating overnight oats and can’t seem to find another recipe that has the perfect blend of chewy and liquidy…I found a recipe in Self magazine that said 1/2c oats and 1/2c almond milk and it was wayyy too dry! I’ve been modifying your recipe with different toppings. SO good. Thank you for writing, it’s been a great inspiration to have your blog as a resource. I myself am looking to lose 50 pounds by transforming my body from the inside out.

    One quick question about these oats…this recipe serves one, right? It’s always so filling (which is so rare for me) so I wanted to make sure I’m not eating two servings. Thanks again and namaste.

    • Thank you! I’m very particular about my oats as well. And yes this is one serving (most of my recipes are unless I specify otherwise or unless it’s a big pot of soup or something).

      Thank you for reading my blog and I’m glad I can be an inspiration! Losing weight and getting healthy was the best thing I ever did for myself. I can enjoy so many more activities now and I always feel great. Don’t lose your motivation and know that you can do it and you are worth it!

      Let me know if you ever have any questions about weight-loss, I’d love to help.

Leave a Reply

