Tropical Oatmeal

Well folks, my daydreaming will have to be just that – another amazing opportunity has just presented itself so we will not be able to go on a dream vacation this spring. I can’t talk about what’s happening just yet, but I promise I will tell you as soon as I can.

Since I can’t sit on a warm beach and smell the salty air…I will have to sit on my cold balcony and smell the snowy air. But, I will do so with a bowl of these tropical oats and maybe – just maybe – if I close my eyes tight enough and dream a little dream, I can pretend I made it to paradise.

Tasty Tropical Oatmeal

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup almond milk
  • 2 tsp coconut oil
  • Drop vanilla extract (vanilla beans would be soooo good in this!)
  • Stevia, optional
  • 1/4 cup chopped pineapple
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • Shredded coconut and sliced almonds** for garnishing

Directions

  1. Combine oats, liquid, oil, extract, and stevia (if using) in a pot over medium heat. Stir to mix well.
  2. Continue stirring as oats cook and get thick. Once thickened, add in pineapple and banana. Stir and heat through.
  3. Serve oats topped with shredded coconut and sliced almonds. Add a splash of additional almond milk, optional.


**chopped macadamia nuts would make this  a true tropical treat!! I’m just not a fan so I used almonds instead

3 thoughts on “Tropical Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: Easy Vegan Breakfasts « Mile High Healthy

  2. Pingback: Mango Oatmeal | Mile High Healthy

  3. Pingback: Two years of blogging: my favorites so far | Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

