Mini-Workout & Daily Vegan Eats 5/15

This is the first new workout I’ve posted in a long while. I haven’t really been sharing new workouts lately because I’ve been getting my routine inspiration from other places like Best Body Bootcamp, For the GLOW, and Tone It Up.

For example, today I did an amazingly sweaty Epic Cardio routine from For the GLOW as part of her Body Transformation Technique. It involved a 10 minute warm-up, 3 rounds on the elliptical, 1 round on the treadmill, and 10 minutes of treadmill sprints (1 min run at 9.0 followed by 1 minute walk at 4.0 with 6% incline). I was pouring sweat at the end and felt strong/confident/sexy…all before 8:30am!

However, I do want to share a short little ditty that I created last week. I love timed/interval routines for when I’m feeling a bit uninspired….having a rigid schedule to stick to helps me focus and get it over with! This routine is for days when you are short on time or energy: just give it your all for 50 seconds at a time.

20 minute Workout

Complete each move at full intensity for 50 seconds and then rest for 10 seconds. Repeat the set once for an 18 minute circuit workout.

  • Lunges w/ bicep curls
  • Plank jacks
  • Squats w/ shoulder press
  • V-up crunches
  • Tricep raises with side leg raise
  • Low jacks
  • Side plank with scoop
  • Side plank with scoop on other side
  • Alternating pushup to row

Follow up with a plank for as long as you can hold it (I’m still at 2 minutes)

And now for today’s eats…things started off a little shaky but I ended the day on a seriously delicious grill note…it’s summertime baby!

First thing (as always)

  • Meta-d drink – this time I tried it before my workout. It was a nice way to wake myself up but I do prefer to drink it after a workout when I am a hot & sweaty mess. I finally bought more pineapple juice so I’m looking forward to a fruity metabolism revver tomorrow

photo (14)

Breakfast

  • Key Lime Pie Smoothie – this was a disappointment! Usually this smoothie is my absolute favorite but today it was kinda nasty. I didn’t have spinach so I used a mix of sprouts and micro-greens that tasted…well, sprout-y (dirty). I was also trying to be quiet as my hubby was still sleeping so I didn’t add any ice and used a fresh banana instead of frozen….it was lukewarm!! Gross
  • In order to get the stanky taste out of my mouth….and because I needed a caffeine boost…I tried to make a “mocha latte” Is this even a real thing? I don’t know much about coffee, but basically I just had a cup of coffee with some frothy chocolate flavored almond milk. It wasn’t as epic as I hoped it would be, regular almond milk tastes the same to me.

photo (19)

photo (13)

Morning Snack

  • Finally a winner! I had a bowl of raw cacao-buckwheat granola with sliced strawberries, almond milk, and a sprinkling of coconut. SO GOOD.

photo (15)

Lunch

  • Hey…it’s that kale salad again, topped with some melt-in-your-mouth avocado. This is the salad that never ends, yes it goes on and on my friends (bonus points for naming that song!)
  • You would probably be grossed out to know how long I eat my leftovers for….

photo (14)

Afternoon pick-me-up

  • Refreshing citrus Kombucha

photo (18)

Dinner

  • Grillapolooza!
  • Grilled BBQ tofu with mango salsa (on recipe page)
  • Grilled veggies (in a brand new veggie basket we got today): asparagus, onion, bell pepper. Grilled corn
  • 1/2 baked sweet potato with Earth Balance

photo (17)

photo (16)

I have a weird idea for the other half of this sweet potato…if it works I will share with you tomorrow! Have a wonderful evening.

Have you grilled anything amazing yet this summer?

Leave a Reply

