BBQ Bean Stuffed Sweet Potato

One of my absolute favorite vegan meals is my Chili Stuffed Sweet Potato. I had been enjoying it long before I shared it with you on the blog. It was one of the first vegan meals I created myself and is a staple in my diet. I love the combination of textures, flavors, and temperatures (hot potato+cold jalapenos and guac).

photo

Another staple I enjoy is BBQ flavors (bean burgers, tofu) with sweet potato rounds on the side. The other night I was contemplating dinner and I had a light-bulb moment and decided to combine these flavors in the style of one of my favorite meals. Behold…BBQ Bean Stuffed Sweet Potato was born! Throughout eating this dinner I just could not believe how perfect the flavors were together. It is a new favorite for sure.

I went from A to B in record time

1

BBQ Bean Stuffed Sweet Potatoes (makes 2 servings)

Ingredients

  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • 1 green bell pepper, sliced thin
  • 1/2 large yellow onion, sliced thin
  • 1/4 cup frozen (or thawed) corn
  • Handful of grape tomatoes, sliced in half (or 1 regular tomato, diced)
  • Generous 1/2 cup pinto beans
  • BBQ sauce of choice (I used spicy!)
  • Smashed avocado, jalapenos, and sliced green onion for garnish, if desired

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400. Bake sweet potatoes for an hour or until fully cooked.
  2. Heat a pot to medium. Add a drizzle of EVOO and sauté the bell pepper and onion until browned.
  3. Add in corn, tomatoes, and beans heating through until vegetables are soft. Stir in desired amount of BBQ sauce (I liked the mixture quite saucy).
  4. Smash mixture together either with a potato masher or a fork.
  5. Slice potatoes in half lengthwise and top with BBQ mix. Serve with a dollop of avocado, jalapenos, and green onion if desired

photo

photo (1)

What healthy meals are staples in your diet?

One thought on “BBQ Bean Stuffed Sweet Potato

  1. Pingback: Easily Hooked « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

