Easily Hooked

I have a tendency to be easily hooked to certain foods. I discover them, fall in love, and then eat them until I can’t think about it again for 6 months. Well – let’s be honest here – that rarely happens but I do often repeat meals until I get sick of them for a bit.

Here is what I am loving a bit too much lately

Protein pancakes – ever since I found a vegan recipe of these a couple months ago it is a mainstay breakfast. I crave them and I honestly think I’m addicted.

My favorite way to enjoy is with peanut butter, strawberry, banana, and coconut.

photo

Last week I made a chocolate sauce out of coconut oil, cocoa powder, and a squirt of agave (stevia would also work well)

photo (2)

And you know I love my chocolate chip pancakes. Dessert for breakfast? Yes please.

photo (7)

Fruity, Fizzy Mocktails – I can’t get enough of these refreshing drinks lately.

photo (4)

Spicy Peanut Noodles – whether made with tofu or tempeh, served on regular noodles or zucchini pasta, this dish is sinfully delicious. Whenever I post a picture of it on twitter, facebook, or instagram I get a ton of responses! People love pretty food and it’s really easy to create a dish that appeals to the visual senses…just use a lot of color.

Made with tempeh and zucchini pasta

photo (9)

Made with tofu and brown rice noodles

photo (1

BBQ Sauce – I’ve been craving this pretty hard lately. I love it on tofu, tempeh, and beans. I eat it on pizzas, wraps, and even considered making BBQ pasta the other day but my husband said that was too weird!

Grilled BBQ tempeh with mango salsa

photo (15)

BBQ beans – have to write this recipe out and share, so yum!

photo

BBQ bean stuffed sweet potato <—- make this now!

photo (1)

Kombucha – I’ve been drinking this way too much lately, considering the price tag. My favorite flavor is citrus but guava is pretty good too. It also makes a fantastic smoothie base. It’s time for me to either cut back or figure out how to make it at home.

IMG_4012

And my latest obsession is….Buffalo Tofu Wraps – make a simple salad with romaine, spinach, onion, and tomato. Sauté tofu until browned and coat in buffalo sauce. Mix it with the salad using sauce as dressing. Wrap it all up in a whole wheat tortilla. I’ve had it 2 days in a row now!

photo (4

Now you know why I haven’t had many new recipes lately…I tend to eat the same things over and over again, specifically my own recipes!

What tasty treats can you not get enough of lately? Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go have another protein pancake!

2 thoughts on “Easily Hooked

Leave a Reply

