Peaches-n-Cream Overnight Oats

After the seriousness of yesterday’s post, I thought I’d lighten things up a bit this morning. Thank you to everyone for your thoughts. Chances that we will actually get caught in a fire are slim, but at least we are prepared.

According to the blog views from Monday & Tuesday, you guys really prefer chocolate chip cookies to a workout! I aim to please, so I have another delicious recipe for you today. These oats are a different take on my Chia-Berry Overnight Oats that I posted a couple of weeks ago

Peaches-n-Cream Overnight Oats

Ingredients

  • 1 cup frozen peaches, diced
  • 1 tbsp. chia seeds
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 packet stevia (or agave, maple syrup, etc.), optional
  • 1/3 heaping cup oats
  • 2/3 cup almond milk
  • Drop of vanilla & dash of cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp. chopped pecans
  • Yogurt of choice

Directions

For the Sauce

Combine peaches, chia, water, and stevia in a pot. Heat to boiling. Reduce heat and simmer, stirring frequently, until the mixture has thickened (it only takes a couple of minutes). Store in the fridge overnight.

For the oats

Combine oats, almond milk, cinnamon, vanilla, and pecans in a bowl. Store in the fridge overnight.

In the morning

Top the overnight oats mixture with the peach-chia sauce. Top the bowl with your favorite yogurt of choice (I used vanilla flavored coconut yogurt however if you eat dairy I would recommend non-fat Greek yogurt) and a dash of cinnamon. 

photo (2)

No need for the pretty presentation, mixing all the ingredients together makes a delicious bowl of creamy goodness

Now that I have made you happy with food, let’s talk about sweat!! Even though it has only been a couple of weeks since I started really working to improve my strength, things are going so well! I did another back+biceps workout yesterday and upped all of my weights used – I now can power through 3 sets of bicep curls with the 20lb dumbbells! My goal was to reach 25lb dumbbell curls by the end of the year and it looks like I will reach and maybe even surpass that soon enough. I also increased my lat pulldown weight to 60lbs.

I’m even getting faster during my post-lifting HIIT sessions (High Intensity Interval Training). I decided to go for 2 miles of HIIT on the treadmill and am maxing it out by sprinting at a 10mph pace!

Needless to say I feel stronger and a bit more badass in the gym. I’m still considering getting a trainer to help teach me how to use all of the machines, but I definitely already feel more comfortable. As someone who only worked out at home or in a tiny apartment gym, stepping it up to the big leagues and getting a real gym membership was a little intimidating. If you feel the same way just remember…everyone at the gym is too busy worrying about themselves to spend time judging you!! Don’t be afraid to ask for help or advice and know that people are more than willing to help out a newbie.

I am taking today as an active rest day and plan on a walk and some much needed yoga later. Tomorrow is hiking day so I want to be fresh and rested.

What is your favorite activity for an active rest day?

3 thoughts on “Peaches-n-Cream Overnight Oats

  1. Pingback: Easy Vegan Breakfasts « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

