A Runner’s High on the 4th of July

First let me say that I cannot believe it has already been a year since last 4th of July. This time last year I was anxiously waiting for my husband to get home from Afghanistan (he came home July 18). I spent a wonderful weekend with my mother-in-law hiking in Chautauqua in Boulder and then going to see the fireworks show at a Rockies game.

Because of all of the fires and high danger here there were no fireworks this year so I guess I will just have to stare at this picture to get my fill.

267855_1823663320625_851688_n

I spent yesterday day tubing down the river…

IMG_4775

 

IMG_4771

And going out to dinner with my husband and friends downtown.

IMG_4786

 

Now let’s get to the good stuff!

Yesterday I had one of the best runs in a while. You may recall that last week I ran a whopping 3 treadmill miles and made a goal to get in 10 outside miles this week. I love running outside in the morning so I need to make sure it is a priority in my workout plans. Anyway, I ran 4 speedy miles and felt so good the whole time. It didn’t hurt that the weather was perfect!!

IMG_4767

I could have slept in. I could have thought “well today is a holiday and I need to relax” but I got out there anyway and if I hadn’t I would have missed an amazing experience.

That’s the beautiful and challenging thing about running that I think keeps people coming back – you never know when it’s going to be a good or bad run. Some days you could have everything in your favor and then you get out there and it feels hard and you go slow and it’s miserable. The tough runs remind us that we’ve never really conquered running.

But then there’s also days like yesterday. I don’t want to sound melodramatic but I felt so good out there that I got goosebumps…and I may or may not have shed  a tear. I felt strong, confident, fast, and insanely happy. The neighbors on the street who passed me must have thought I was crazy. I’m pretty sure I was running like Phoebe at one point. Runs like that remind me how far I have come and how much potential I have. They remind me why I run in the first place…being alone outside in the morning and pushing myself makes me so happy.

The same is true for any kind of exercise you prefer…sometimes it’s easy and sometimes it’s hard. Sometimes you’ll hate it and other times you will love it more than you thought you ever could. The point is you just have to do it!!

…….

Okay…so I wrote the above inspirational stuff  yesterday while I was still on my runner’s high. I didn’t get around to finishing it up and posting it last night because I was so busy. When I sat down today to reread it I thought DAMN that is one cheesy ass blog post. I didn’t think I would put it up.

You see, for most of today I was in a bad mood. I was grumpy, overly tired, and generally just having a pity party for myself. I slept on and off until 3:30pm and then decided I needed to do at least one productive thing today so I headed to the gym for a back, bicep, and core workout. And you know what? By the time I was done pushing myself and sweating my heart out, I felt 100% better. I left feeling strong and in a good mood. I upped my weights and am continuing to see strength gains and improvement and that makes me happy.

That’s when I decided that I would, in fact, post this cheesy little message for you. Because we could all use a little cheesy from time to time to help motivate and inspire us.

I really do hope my enthusiasm rubs off and inspires you to set your alarm just a little bit earlier tomorrow. I hope you get up and get your sweat on whatever way you like. Me….I’m gonna go for another lovely run and this time I want to add in some hill sprints at the end!! There is a hill in my neighborhood that I.WILL.CONQUOR.

I will be back tomorrow with a great new recipe! Good night all and happy sweating.

2 thoughts on “A Runner’s High on the 4th of July

  1. Yes, it’s cheesy, BUT I think you’re RIGHT ON! Running is now my release. Some days my body screams at me to stop but I push through anyways and I feel so accomplished. Other days everything is just right and I feel like I can run for days on end without stopping. It’s a beautiful feeling. Maybe a cheesy one, but I don’t care 🙂 I’m not alone.

  2. Pingback: Hummus Patties With Tzatziki-Style Yogurt Sauce « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

