Hummus Patties With Tzatziki-Style Yogurt Sauce

Whoops…so I lied yesterday. I didn’t get up and go for a run with hill sprints. I forgot that today was Friday so it’s hike day! We are going on a hike to Hope Lake (near Ice Lake from last week) and this time we’re going with friends. Pictures and a review to come.

But for now I have a new recipe for you! I made this little ditty on Monday and put up a picture on Instagram. To my surprise, I got 18 likes…a personal record! Seems like everyone was just as excited as I am about these bad boys.

photo (1)

I’ve brought you pinto burgers and black bean burgers, now here is my take on Hummus Burgers…though I call them patties because I enjoyed them without a bun. They are a cross between a bean burger and falafel…sautéed instead of fried and they make a nice and flavorful change from simple veggie patties. Enjoy!

Hummus Patties with Tzatziki-Style Sauce

For the sauce:

  • 6 0z yogurt (I used plain soy, but you could use non-fat, plain Greek for extra protein)
  • 1 tbsp. vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar)
  • 1/4 cucumber, minced
  • Shake of garlic powder
  • Shake of spices (I used oregano but I believe dill is traditional, although I don’t like dill at all)

Mix all ingredients together and set out while making patties. I thought it was better room temp.

photo (3

For the patties:

  • 1 can chickpeas, drained
  • 1/4 cup oats
  • Spoonful of tahini (probably optional, but helps give it a hummus flavor)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • Juice of 1/2-1 lemon
  • Up to 1/4 cup minced parsley
  • Paprika, salt & pepper

Directions

    1. Combine all ingredients in a food processor. PULSE gently until a rough mix is formed. Alternatively you could mash well with a fork or potato masher.
    2. Wet hands and form into patties (you could make 4 regular sized patties or more mini patties).
    3. Heat a skillet to medium-high. Spray with olive oil cooking spray or drizzle with oil. Sauté for about 5 minutes per side. I sprinkled with extra paprika while in the skillet because I love my lemon-paprika hummus.
    4. Serve on a bed of mixed greens and red onion and top with the yogurt sauce. I enjoyed the patty with fresh veggies and pearled couscous on the side.

photo (2

Make sure you only pulse the ingredients, don’t overly process or you will end up with something more like actual hummus!

photo (2)

See how the mixture is still quite “chunky" just wet your hands and form it into patties.

photo

You could serve it like a traditional burger, but I liked it with veggies and couscous.

photo (3)

I also enjoyed it wrap-style the next day. Instead of one large patty I made 3 mini patties and used the leftover couscous and veggies in a whole wheat wrap.

photo (4)

wrap how to

Yum, next time I want to put all of the goodies into a warmed pita pocket!

Happy Friday everyone, I’m headed up into the mountains now.

4 thoughts on “Hummus Patties With Tzatziki-Style Yogurt Sauce

  1. that monster wrap looks amazing! i might have to try this patty recipe, though i’ve always baked my veggie burgers. haven’t tried cooking them on the stove top yet..

  2. Pingback: Fitness Recap 7/8 « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

