6 New Smoothie Ideas!!

I am on a SMOOTHIE ROLL lately and I wanted to share my triumphs with you! Most of these are protein smoothies because I have been upping my protein intake as I am focusing more heavily on strength training.

I try to get in a smoothie for an afternoon treat and have been experimenting with banana-less smoothies (gasp!) to save on the sugar and calories in the evening. I have found that the key to a good banana-less smoothie is simply adding more liquid. I have also been working on a carb-protein-fat combo that keeps me satisfied and helps with sugar cravings.

Sure, I could just shake protein with water…but how boring is that? Below are my 6 favorite smoothies as of late.

Breakfast Banana-Almond-Chocolate

  • 1.5 cups almond milk
  • Scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1 tbsp. almond butter
  • Leaves from 3 stems of kale
  • Ice
  • Banana

Combine all ingredients except banana and blend until ice is mixed in. Add in banana and run until just blended. This smoothie is oh-so-delicious.

IMG_4768

Neapolitan Smoothie

  • 1.5-2 cups vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • Handful of strawberries
  • 1 tbsp. ground flaxseed
  • Ice

Blend ingredients and serve. I always hated strawberry flavored milk growing up but this was quite tasty.

IMG_4743

Berry Bliss

This is my new favorite afternoon go-to smoothie.

  • 1.5 cups almond milk
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1 cup frozen mixed berries
  • 1 tbsp. flaxseed

Blend and serve. So pretty, I call it my purple power shake!

IMG_4454

However, if you add a handful of spinach, it turns a gloomy grey color.

IMG_4926

Cleansing Cooler

  • 1 cup fresh pineapple
  • 1 cup fresh parsley
  • 2 cups spinach
  • 1 tbsp. coconut oil
  • 1.5 cups of water

Blend and enjoy. Parsley is full of cleansing benefits and pairs quite well with fresh ripe pineapple.

IMG_4712

The Bloob

  • 1.5 cups almond milk
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 1 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1/2 – 1 whole banana
  • 1 tbsp. coconut oil

Blend and enjoy. This was great hiking fuel.

IMG_4801

The Most Amazing Smoothie Ever

  • 1.5 cups almond milk
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • Flesh from 1/2 leftover baked sweet potato (chilled)

Blend and be carried away by this smoothie’s decadence. Inspired by my Sweet Potato Protein Smoothie, this one is probably even better. For added satiety, throw in some almond butter, coconut oil, ground flaxseed, or chia.

photo (5)

Wowza, just looking at all these I’m having a hard time deciding which smoothie to have after my workout today.

What is your absolute favorite or go-to smoothie combo? I’m always looking for new ideas.

14 thoughts on “6 New Smoothie Ideas!!

  1. i have been lost the past few weeks, my blender broke, and i ran out of protein powder! i’ve got a ninja being shipped to me, and hopefully a trip to whole foods this week, so i am looking forward to trying that chocolate sweet potato smoothie! i think a sweet potato smoothie was the best i’ve ever had.

  2. I always have coconut milk, sun warrior and blueberries for breakfast, but have you tried some of the tone it up smoothies for afternoon, like Monkeys Mango 1/2 banana cut into chucks,1/2 cup organic unsweetened coconut, 1/2 cup mango,1 cup of Almond Milk,1 serving brown rice protein

  3. I read your posts almost daily so I figured it was time to throw my two cents in! There is another smoothie I love… this one has a banana, so I usually have it for breakfast, but keeps you pretty full!
    1 ½ cups coconut milk or almond milk
    1 banana
    ½ small beet
    1 handful spinach
    2 tablespoons hemp protein powder
    Juice of ½ lime
    10 whole frozen strawberries
    Liquid stevia to sweeten if needed
    Place all ingredients except strawberries in blender and blend for 90 seconds. Add
    strawberries and blend on high until smooth

  4. Tried the berry bliss this afternoon (however, I added banana and a couple fresh strawberries from my garden), and it truly was delicious!! I’ll send you a picture 😀

    • Ok, I will admit I do cheat a little bit, for the beets, I buy organic canned beets no sugar added or salt added and you wouldnt even know they were in there! You dont like beet chips? Yummo!

  5. Pingback: Easy Vegan Workout Recovery « Mile High Healthy

  6. Pingback: Seasonal Chia Pudding « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

