Vlog: How to Make a Kale Salad

Before we get started, I just want to let you know that I created a Hiking Page! Go check it out…it has reviews from our recent hikes including updated posts from Engineer Mountain and Snowdon Peak. This page will be the hub for all things hiking related here on the blog…I plan to do posts about what you need to know, wear, and bring for day hikes and backpacking trips alike.

…..

As I was getting ready to make my dinner last night I stopped and thought “you know what would be fun? Making a video for the blog showing everyone how I make my favorite salad!” And yes…that part was fun. I got to pretend I was living my dream of having my own cooking show. Except the set was my dimly lit kitchen and the camera was my iPhone that was being propped up by two wheatgrass trays and a blender…hey, I made it work.

You know what wasn’t fun? Realizing that the video was ridiculously long (6:49). I put a poll out on twitter, instagram, and Facebook to see what the max length for viewers would be and I got a response of anywhere from 90 seconds to 5 minutes. So I set out to do some editing…I aim to please. Over three hours later and I only managed to get the video down to just under 5 minutes.

Lesson learned: next time make it short & sweet or simply make you suffer through extended videos of my random thoughts and awkward hand gestures. And the accent…I think it’s a mixture of Arkansas, Fargo, and maybe a little Chicago (da Bears)???

photo 2

Much like Ricky Bobby, I don’t really know what to do with my hands

The video isn’t great…hey it’s my first try and I made it on a whim. However, with as long as it took for me to edit it I decided I would post it no matter how shitty it is! So please, at least one person take the time out of their day (great time waster at work!) and watch this video so it’s not all for naught. Pretty please?? Mom…I know I can count on you.

photo1

Kale salads are something I talk about often here on the blog…it is my absolute favorite salad and a great way to use up a ton of produce. Plus, with all those greens and veggies you’re sure to feel like a rock star! Getting the kale salad right was tricky at first for me and so I thought maybe showing you how I do it would help and encourage you to give kale a shot. Let’s get to it…

How to make a kale salad

 

My favorite line from the video: “so just rub that as long as you feel like you want to.” TWSS!! Disclaimer: while you can rub it as long as you’d like, let’s keep it real. No need to go overboard here – just a couple of minutes is all it needs!

**Also, by “a lot” of oil I mean no more than 1/3 of a cup total. You can always use more vinegar or water to thin it out instead of oil.

[I didn’t mention in the video but I had already chopped the rest of the ingredients and put them in the bowl before I added the de-stemmed kale.]

Finished Product

photo (1)

This salad contained 1 bunch of kale, 2 medium carrots, 1/2 bell pepper, white onion, green onion, grapes, apple, walnuts, chickpeas, and dried cranberries. It made enough for at least 5 salads. Looks like I’ve got some eating to do!

You can find the recipe for the Bye Bye Cravings Chickpea Salad here.

…..

Okay, this video was pretty hilarious but it’s a labor of love. Any constructive criticism other than length? Would you like to see more videos here on the blog? If so, is there anything in particular you would like to see? I do it all for you guys so your opinions are very valuable to me.

Now get your ass up from the computer and go make a kale salad!! Send me a picture of the finished product!

5 thoughts on “Vlog: How to Make a Kale Salad

  1. That was the fastest 5 min video ever. Loved it. Very informative and you are just darn cute. A real natural in front of the camera – not forced. I would love to see more!

  2. I loved it! You are a natural in front of the camera. 🙂 Plus, your description of making the video was a hilarious! My only suggestion would be that you show more of the food as you’re working with it. Maybe you should get Steve to film you? You have such a sense of humor! Ilytmaimi

  3. Pingback: Friday Randomness « Mile High Healthy

  4. Pingback: Get it in Gear « Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

