Quick Check-In + Hill Sprints

Hello!! I can’t believe how little I’ve been blogging the past few days (only once since Friday!). Truth is, I really really miss it. Blogging has become a fun part of my life and is a hobby I look forward to. However – with work, workouts, some other fun stuff (news on that next week), and a slow computer it’s hard to find the time. Add in the fact that I go to bed at about 9:30 (always hopeful for an early morning workout) and I really only have 2 or so hours at home every night.

But I won’t let that stop me because I have so many things I want to talk about. I think tomorrow I will do a daily eats post and then I want to do a post on my ever-changing workouts and race training plan (yes I’ve decided it’s on for a half-marathon in October).

IMG_6545

For now I’m just doing a quick check-in to say I’m alive and I miss you guys. Tonight I actually got my husband to do a sprint workout with me which is amazing. He works out nearly every day at his gym lifting weights but tonight we headed outside for some hill sprints!

I got in a quick full body workout at the gym first, including:

  • Squat to shoulder press
  • Pushups
  • Jumping jacks
  • Lunges with bicep curls
  • Tricep extensions with leg raises
  • Mountain climbers on a bosu ball
  • Deadlifts
  • Weighted calf raises
  • Burpees
  • Core circuit

And I threw in some random moves like squats on a bosu ball and shoulder shrugs. After a little time off, it felt good to be back in the weight room!

Once we were both done with strength training we took a short trail to one of the monster hills in our neighborhood. We split it in half and did some repeats (with two full hill runs at the end).

IMG_6548

Can you see the rainbow behind me? Not a bad view for a workout!

IMG_6551

I love Colorado evenings

After our mini-workout session we headed home and grilled up a quick dinner (BBQ chicken for him and lemon salmon for me). Now I’m off to enjoy some quality time with my hubs…now that he is back on the night shift we are seeing a lot less of each other so any time together is precious.

IMG_6553

I will leave you with a pointless video of myself sprinting up one of the half-hills (hey, I promised more Vlogs!).

 

Just remember….it’s not about being the best or the fastest (or even fast at all!).

Whether you run 10 miles or walk 1 mile

Lift 20lb dumbbells or 2lb dumbbells

Sprint up the hill like an Olympian or take your time (like me)

…it’s about showing up and putting in the effort….

In the end, you’re still the one at the top.

Leave a Reply

