Good News

First good news of the day….I went to the dentist for the first time in six years today…yes SIX YEARS (dang lack of insurance). To say I was nervous is an understatement. When I was filling out the paperwork I started getting sweaty and nauseous. I didn’t realize how much I was afraid of the dentist until that moment! Growing up we had a great dentist but they stopped taking our insurance around high school and the guy we went to after that was not very good. I just remember everything being extremely painful.

Anyway…six years with no dentist visits made me worried about the news I would get. I’ve been dealing on and off with painful wisdom teeth growth lately and I was really worried that they would tell me I needed emergency wisdom teeth removal (is that a thing?).

IMG_6138

Wisdom teeth are no fun…This lovely picture was taken a few weeks ago during an insanely painful growth spurt. I even considered making an emergency visit but I was afraid it would cost $500.

Well long story short…my wisdom teeth are all coming in straight!! They are all in to some degree and the dentist says things are fine though I may want to consider having them removed sometime in the next few years to avoid complications 20 years from now. And the best news of all was I only had two cavities!! Y’all, I was seriously worried that number would be close to double digits. Of course I brush my teeth and I try to floss (though I admit I’m terrible about it) but I also love sugar and didn’t know what 6 years without preventative care would do. I’m getting them filled next week and am overall happy with our new dentist here in town. It was quick, painless (well except for the terrible teeth scraping noises), and everyone was so nice. Good news!!

Want to know the second round of good news? Get ready…cause it’s really good…..

…………………………

I’m in school again!!! I started classes for Monday to get my pre-requisites finished so I can start Nursing School next fall!! I am so excited and a little nervous because these classes are science and math based and I was a History major which  means my toughest science class was Astronomy and I took a remedial math.

IMG_6946

While I really do like the job I started earlier this month, it also made me realize I want to do more with my life. I want to be in healthcare and I want to help people. I’d ideally also like to become a CPT at some point and do that in my off time. I’m hoping to specialize in Labor & Delivery…but I’m sure that’s a tough field to get into and I will wait to dive into the program and see what I enjoy most.

I have to thank my Dad for all of his support and help…I wouldn’t be able to do it without him!

37121_10100113131290789_8189180_n

I love this picture of us

So now with work, second job (freelance style), school, fitness, my husband, and life…I’m really going to have to work to fit blogging into the picture! But fear not, it can be done. Even if I have to wake up at 5:30 I will make sure to get in everything I need to do. I’m so excited about the direction our life is headed in and I’m so thankful for the love and support that allows me to really reach for my goals.

One more final piece of good news…it’s almost the weekend! Tomorrow we are finally doing our office team building and my boss is taking us mountain biking. It’s the first time for me to do it and I am pumped, I have a feeling I’m going to love it.

Happy Friday…tell me some good news you’ve received lately.

5 thoughts on “Good News

  1. Yay!! You’ll make a great nurse – maybe you can find a niche in the “wellness” field. What’s a CPT? You will LOVE mountain biking – it’s huge fun, when you’re in good shape. Wear a helmet!

  2. yes what is a cpt? congrats on all the good things, though 🙂 i’m happy to have just gotten a part time job at a small local health food store. it’s only 3 hours a week, but i’m just glad to have my foot in the door plus… can we say employee DISCOUNT!

Leave a Reply

