Meal Planning & Prep 9/23

Last week I decided not to do a big grocery run so I could eat all of the food we already had. Well, by this morning our fridge and freezer were looking a little pitiful!

IMG_7817[1]

I think that’s the emptiest it has been in quite some time and it did feel good to eat up all of the food that had been taking up space for a while.

Meal Plans for the Week:

  • Breakfasts – blueberry breakfast “cake” with vegan butter, fruit, protein smoothies, overnight oats
  • Lunches – kale salad, leftover stir fry, quinoa+bean combo leftovers
  • Dinners – BBQ stuffed sweet potatoes (x2), tofu stir fry, out to eat, quinoa+bean combo, tofu scramble burrito
  • Snacks – veggies+hummus, lunabars, fruit+nut butter

**I should let you know that this is just my meal plan. My husband really doesn’t eat the same foods as I do. His meals include eggs, sandwiches, burritos, spaghetti, cereal, quesadillas, and more.

Groceries

I went to 3 different stores this week! They are all very close together so it wasn’t a big deal. I prefer to get my produce at City Market (they have such a great variety of organic and Colorado grown produce), my specialty items at Nature’s Oasis, and basic items at Wal-Mart (they really do have the best prices).

I did end up spending about $85 on everything for all breakfasts, lunches, and dinners for the week (and some of the items like coffee, nut butter, and bread will last longer than 7 days). I’ve also planned one out-to-eat night with the hubs.

Also – I’m proud to say that I didn’t buy a single item that wasn’t on the list!

City Market Grocery List

  • Cantaloupe
  • Pears
  • Raspberries
  • Kale
  • Avocado (x2)
  • Bell peppers (x2)
  • Onion (x2)
  • Carrots
  • Tomatoes
  • Green onion
  • 1 orange
  • Lemons
  • Bananas
  • Frozen Corn
  • 3 lunabars

$23.00

Nature’s Oasis List

  • Non-GMO, organic, sprouted Tofu (my hippie item of the week)
  • Quinoa in bulk
  • Brown rice pasta in bulk

$8.00

Wal-Mart (for items like bread, snacks, almond milk that you can get anywhere, Walmart has the best prices)

  • Bread
  • Tortillas
  • Mac-N-Cheese
  • Fruit Loops
  • Turkey
  • Pepperjack cheese
  • Can of chickpeas and pinto beans
  • Almond butter
  • Good coffee
  • Almond milk
  • Ground ginger and ground cinnamon
  • Frozen fruits (strawberries and blueberries
  • Cat litter (glamorous)

$50.00 (and I did spend $9 on good coffee which isn’t usual for me!)

Meal Prep

I have to say I was awesome on my meal prep for the week. I planned it out to make a bunch of stuff in a short amount of time.

Blueberry Breakfast Cake from Happy Herbivore (I used 1/4 cup brown sugar and 1/4 cup stevia blend)

IMG_7836[1]

Chickpea-Kale Salad (how to video here)

IMG_7834[1]

Chop up veggies & cantaloupe

IMG_7832[1]

My secret for this meal prep was in the order. I whipped up the bread batter and threw it in the oven, then washed out the mixing bowl and used it to make the kale salad. Once that was done I used the cutting board for veggies and cantaloupe. And I was done with everything and cleaning up the kitchen by the time the bread came out of the oven!

I’m really excited about the food for this week…lots of fresh veggies and fun flavors. I’m hoping that cooler weather sets in by next week so I can make squash soup and chili!

What foods are in your meal plans for the week?

Leave a Reply

