Zesty Blueberry Overnight Oats with Sweet Lemon Cream

Can I just say…what a mouthful that post title is!! But it’s the best way to describe this bowl of deliciousness I am about to lay on you.

First thing’s first though…today I rode in a hot air balloon!! It was one of the coolest experiences ever and I still can’t believe I actually did it. I have so many photographs to go through but I thought I’d share a quick video with you in the meantime.

Balloon Fiesta Ride 2012

The video doesn’t even do it justice…just amazing.

…………………………………………….

8026452788_a7fe2e95ae

Now…onto these overnight oats. They are inspired by my two favorite vegan breads: a Blueberry Breakfast Cake from Happy Herbivore and a Carrot Cake Loaf with Lemon Glaze from Oh She Glows. Zesty-ness from the ginger and lemon combined with blueberries and a sweet cream made for a wildly flavorful breakfast treat.

I knew as soon as I posted a picture on instagram that I had a winner! Well, technically I knew the moment I ate them but I was excited about the positive feedback nonetheless. Completely vegan and completely tasty.

IMG_0655

Zesty Blueberry Oats with Sweet Lemon Cream
(serves 1 with cream leftover)

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 2/3 cup almond milk
  • Heaping 1/4 tsp. of powdered ginger
  • 1/3 cup blueberries
  • 3/4 cup cashews
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1.5 tbsp agave (or sweetener of choice, I’m sure stevia would work)
  • Juice of 2 lemons
  • Zest of 1 lemon, optional

Directions

  1. Combine oats, almond milk, and ginger together. Let sit overnight in the fridge.
  2. Combine cashews with enough water to cover and let soak in the fridge for a couple of hours (I just did overnight as well to make it easy)
  3. When you’re ready to eat: Drain cashews. Throw them in a blender with water, sweetener, and lemon juice. Blend until whipped. This can also be done in a food processor, just make sure you scrape the sides and get everything well whipped or it will be chunky (ew!)
  4. Top oats with blueberries, cream (I used a little less than half), and zest. Yum Yum! I ate these cold, but I’m sure you could heat up the oats and berries before adding the cream if you need a warm breakfast.

IMG_0660

I had originally thought to make these with a lemon glaze made of lemon juice and powdered sugar (like in the recipe from Oh She Glows) and then I realized I didn’t want to eat (or encourage you to eat) processed sugar first thing in the morning. I decided on a lemon cream to give the same light lemony flavor with the added bonus of protein and healthy fats, it’s really no different than eating nut butter with your oats – do not fear the fat!

IMG_0658Well, I have been up since 4:45am with a 4 hour solo drive home on top of that so I’m wiped…I hope everyone had a wonderful weekend, I’m off to lay on the couch like the zombie I am. See you tomorrow! 

4 thoughts on “Zesty Blueberry Overnight Oats with Sweet Lemon Cream

  1. Pingback: Mile High Healthy Vegan MoFo 2013–Busy Vegan | Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

