What Are You Afraid Of?

What are you afraid of?

IMG_4586

Do you have something – that big thing – in your life that you’ve always wanted to do or try but fear has held you back? It can be anything and will certainly be different for every person.

  • Do you want to quit your job and start a career that you are passionate about? Perhaps your fear is that you will fail and end up without money.
  • Do you want to lose weight and get healthy? Perhaps your fear is that it is impossible or too hard.
  • Do you want to do something completely out of character like start a blog or take up playing the banjo? Perhaps you fear is (once again) failure. Or maybe you fear that you could never do it well so why start in the first place? Do you fear putting yourself out there only to give up and fee embarrassed or ashamed?

Is there anything in your life that you want badly but don’t go for because of a fear of failure or fear that those around you just won’t understand? We all have something in our lives like that. Why do we put self-imposed limitations on ourselves? Why do we use excuses to keep our self from true happiness? Why do we not encourage our self to just leap and go for it?

If your best friend came to you downtrodden and said “I just can’t stay in my job, it makes me miserable and depressed. I want to quit and start my own business doing something that I love” more than likely you would support her 100%! You love your friends and family and you only want the best for them. If your sister/mother/daughter came to you and said “I do not feel my best, I want to make healthy changes in my life and regain my energy and spark” you would be very happy for her, right?

Then WHY OH WHY do you put yourself down and hold yourself back? You think “I could never change my career” or “I could never get healthy” because “XYZ…”

Change your perspective and your approach

Oftentimes our biggest excuse is the fear of failure. I was listening to a radio program the other day and what they said really struck a chord with me. The example was of running a 4 minute mile. Back in the day people thought this was an impossible human feat – they argued there was no physical way that it could be done. And then one day somebody did run a 4 minute mile. Before you know it many people were running 4 minute miles – once they understood the possibility that it could be done…they were doing it!

So what is your 4 minute mile? Is it a new career, lifestyle, or hobby? Sit down and figure out your “impossible feat”. After you’ve pinpointed it, be honest with yourself and admit your fears. Get them out of your head and into the universe.

Now go out and find supporting evidence that it can be done. Find friends or acquaintances that have turned their whole lives upside down and come out the other side happy and secure. Find people online who have picked up that banjo and learned to play. Find people who were able to successfully change their habits and thoughts and start leading a healthy lifestyle. Once you have this supporting evidence, use it to build yourself up! Say…if they can do it, I can too.

Always know that YOU DESERVE HAPPINESS. You deserve to have what you want in life.

My four minute mile(s)

  • I want to become a Nurse of Obstetrics
  • I want to become a wellness coach in my spare time (think personal trainer + nutritionist + lifestyle coach)
  • I want to play that damn banjo that’s been sitting in my closet for FOUR years.
  • I want to reach my wellness potential with a holistic combination of optimum nutrition, exercise, and lifestyle habits. I feel good but I know I could feel amazing.
  • I want my marriage to last a lifetime (I’m not saying this is impossible I’m just being realistic of how society is these days. Lasting marriages are becoming a rarity)

My fears

  • Everyone wants to be a baby nurse, what are the chances I could be good enough to get the job?
  • This would mean even more schooling/training and building a clientele.
  • It’s hard. Like really hard.
  • I don’t have the self-control or follow through to make this happen.
  • That my marriage will succumb to the norm of today’s society. That one day we won’t work as hard as we should to be together.

IMG_0782

Change your idea of success

So…you have your impossible feat picked out. You’ve identified your fears and you’ve found anecdotal evidence that it can be done. You still may be afraid of failure. BUT while we are at this life-changing-hippy-dippy nonsense, how about we change our idea of success? Realize there is not one definition of success…it’s all relative to YOU.

I will consider myself to be successful, once I’m a registered nurse. I think it’s pretty amazing that I decided to change my career path into something that interests me much more than my current path. I will work hard to specialize in the field of my preference.

  • I will consider myself to be successful if I can continue to grow the blog and inspire all of you! It may take a while to put my health-coach dreams into place so I won’t give up if it doesn’t happen overnight. After all, time will keep passing so I may as well make good use of it.
  • I will consider myself to be successful even if I can learn just a few songs on the banjo…I’m not going to think of myself as a failure if I don’t have a successful bluegrass band within a year.
  • I consider myself successful every time I make a positive and healthy choice for my mind and body. There is not 1 perfect version for health and it is not an all-or-nothing game. I will not give up or be hard on myself for any reason.
  • I will not let my marriage become routine. I will recognize when there are tough times and I will fight to keep it going. I won’t give up easily.

IMG_3922

There you have it…my dreams, fears, and thoughts about success for my future. Whew, that’s a lot to put out there on a Thursday night! Hope I didn’t induce eye-rolling and lofty sighs with this post. 

The point is that I believe in you and I want you to believe in yourself as well. Go for the things that you want in life. We are here for such a short amount of time and this life is a precious and magical thing…don’t waste it!

2 thoughts on “What Are You Afraid Of?

Leave a Reply

