Weekend + Full Body WO

Things have been slow going on the blog front this week. I feel busier than ever lately and haven’t been inspired with any new recipe ideas. Over the past month or two I’ve also been gone more than ever. 2 weekends in Albuquerque, one “stay-cation” weekend when my father-in-law and brother-in-law (and his band) came into town, and a long weekend in Denver. Weekends are my “getting shit done” time and needless to say not much has been done around here lately!

We got home from Denver mid-day on Monday and then I went straight to work. Combine that with lots of homework this week (I got a 92% on my test!) and some much needed gym time and the only thing I’ve had time to do is make dinner (some good ones) and go to sleep. THIS HOUSE IS A MESS.

IMG_1095

I always have time for a tasty dinner

I wrote up a to-do list a mile long and I’m excited to cross everything off over the weekend. On top of the list are cleaning and tidying the house along with doing all of the dirty laundry (and then putting it ALL away – this is the part that usually doesn’t happen). I don’t know about you, but I just cannot relax in a messy house. Beyond that I want to get a jump start on next week’s homework load which is insane as well as complete a few blog projects that I’ve been meaning to get to for a while (I’m pitifully behind on the recipes page). Oh and I’m going to film a few Vlogs as part of my “Personal Prevention Plan” series!

Somewhere in there I need to find time for relaxing with a book and some hot cocoa because we are getting our first snow of the season!

IMG_1105Though there are a million and one things I want to do…first and foremost was hitting up the gym after work last night. I am craving workouts lately and specifically something challenging. While I love a relaxing workout, sometimes I want it to be tough. Yesterday was one of those days (also Wednesday, I was so proud of how hard I pushed myself in spin class). I hit a “PR” on my weights for the row-110lbs and dumbbell chest presses-27.5lbs! And wow am I sore this morning.

Full Body Strength Workout (3 rounds)

  • Walking lunges
  • Side-to-side squats with band
  • Reverse lunges with front kick
  • Weighted calf raises
  • Leg presses on cable machine
  • Hip adductors and abductors on cable machine
  • Triceps cable pull-down
  • Cable Row
  • Alternating Bicep Curls
  • Dumbbell Chest Presses
  • Deadlifts
  • Shoulder Shrugs
  • Bridge raises holding 25lb plate

Core work (one time through)

  • V-up crunches
  • Oblique V-ups
  • Stacked foot crunch
  • Boat pose holding 10lb medicine ball with feet
  • Down dog side crunches
  • Crunch with 25lb plate
  • Tummy tucks
  • Weighted toe taps
  • Superman

Like I said, I’m super sore this morning from challenging myself with the weights. I haven’t been lifting consistently over the past few weeks because of travel, homework, and trying out a bunch of new classes at the gym. I was worried I would actually have to downgrade my weight but I’m glad to say that the body is an amazing machine and muscle memory is truly there. Sometimes it can actually be good to tone it down for a bit so you can come back stronger than ever.

Happy Saturday everyone – are you getting snow where you’re at?

4 thoughts on “Weekend + Full Body WO

  1. No snow, but we have the firt rin in a long time. Also, the highs this week will be in yhe low 50’s and the lows in the low 30’s. Our fall color is peaking right now, so hopefully the summer-like weather is gone until next year. So proud of your exam scores! Luv u.

Leave a Reply

