Hummus Kale Salad

Hey guess what? I have yet another kale salad to share with you! I’ve been really focusing on getting more dark, leafy greens in my life and kale is at the top of the list (along with my beloved spinach, of course). Though I really don’t think I could ever top the Guacamole Kale Salad, I will keep trying.

This is actually more of a two-for-one recipe as you could use the raw zucchini hummus for dipping and wraps as well as a salad dressing. Zucchini hummus tends to be a little easier on the digestive system than the traditional chickpea hummus, but if you prefer things the tried and true way feel free to use store bought hummus in place of the zucchini hummus shown here.

If you are adventurous, I highly suggest giving this recipe a try. It’s as easy as 1) throw hummus ingredients in food processor 2) massage kale and 3) add your favorite veggies.

[Adorable Sampson feet not included]

IMG_1199

Hummus Kale Salad

For the raw hummus/dressing:

  • 1 zucchini washed and chopped
  • 1 spoonful of tahini
  • Drizzle of olive oil
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 clove garlic
  • Salt, pepper, and a shake of paprika

For the dressing: pulse all ingredients together in a food processor until smooth and creamy, adding more olive oil or water if needed to get things going.

For the Salad:

  • 3 leaves kale, torn
  • Large dollop of hummus
  • Handful of spinach
  • Veggies of choice: jicama, bell pepper, cucumber, carrot
  • Nutritional yeast, optional
  • Slivered Almonds

For the salad: massage a large spoonful of the hummus into the kale. Add spinach and veggies, toss to coat. Top with nutritional yeast and slivered almonds.

IMG_1198

Remember to always use the veggies that you like or have on hand. No need to make things too complicated.

Coming up later in the week I have an idea that will make delicious at-home salads a breeze!

…………………………………………………………………………………………………

PS – My first two articles for my new gig are up: Black Friday fitness deals and Black Friday health deals

I would love for you to check them out and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

