Sick Days

Greetings to all! I’m writing from the comfort of my own home today as I am on day 2 of being sick and away from work. When I mentioned that I wasn’t feeling my best on Sunday, I wasn’t kidding. What I thought was just a holiday hangover turned into a stomach flu that hit me like a freight train at 9:00pm on Monday.

I don’t know when or how I picked up the bug, but it’s way more than just discomfort from indulging in rich foods. I felt fine on Monday and even went to spin class after work. My energy for class was a bit low but I just attributed that to being tired and away from the gym for a few days.

I came home, did some homework, wrote some articles, and put together a blog post on at home salad bars. I ate dinner (a version of the Texas Taco) and watched some Bones. Then at 9 I started getting ready for the next day – I usually take from 9:00 – 9:30 to prep my breakfast, lunch, clothes, and gym bag so I can relax and sleep in. Right about this time I started to feel like I had eaten a bowling ball. One thing led to another and I ended up calling in!

I wasn’t sure if I should call in or not but I’m glad I did because things just ended up getting worse. Yesterday is just a blur of sleeping and feeling terrible. I finally got myself to the store for some medicine and that helped a bit. My fever broke in the middle of the night around 101.3. I called in again today just because I wasn’t ready to be in the office.

I didn’t eat anything from Monday at dinner until just a little bit ago so I had no energy…I got up to take the trash out today and had to take a 2 hour nap afterwards because it wore me out!! I very rarely get sick and hate being “bedridden.” I’m getting to that point of restlessness after being home and inside for 2 days that I really want to start getting things done. I’d like to do laundry, clean the kitchen, and go for a walk. And then I remember that my big accomplishments for the day were eating soup and washing my hair…I should probably just take it easy.

I still haven’t had an appetite at all and had to force myself to eat because I know my body needed it. The soup tasted weird and the mere thought of foods turns my stomach. Unfortunately, I may not be able to eat a Texas Taco again for a very long time.

Luckily, I have Sampson to take care of me. He has been my little shadow this whole time and barely leaves me side – little guy knew I needed some extra love!

Desktop5

Well I’m off for another nap and some Castle (yesterday there was a Bones marathon and today it’s Castle – the only positive thing about missing work, other than the Price is Right). I’m hoping to get my energy back so I can go to work tomorrow as I’m starting to lose my mind with boredom. Hope everyone else is doing well today!

……………………………………………..

PS – Check out my two most recent articles for Shop At Home:

How to eat healthy on a budget
5 easy ways to be healthier

3 thoughts on “Sick Days

Leave a Reply

