Mendie update + dealing with grief

Hello my dears. Today I want to talk about something a little more serious than usual. I’ve struggled with how to handle this and whether or not to even write about it, but writing is such a wonderful outlet that I’ve decided to share with you.

167056_1500143032820_673994_n

24 days ago, my 50 year old mother-in-law was given two weeks to live.

If you’ve been reading the blog for a while now you will remember me talking about Mendie before and perhaps you even helped to donate to the fundraiser I started in her honor (for which, I am forever grateful).

Mendie was diagnosed with melanoma almost 5 years ago and had some cancerous moles and even a lymph node removed. A little over a year ago, the cancer was back and this time it was more aggressive and widespread.

Though she fought and tried so many different methods to overcome it, the cancer has now spread to her spinal cord fluid and meninges (protective layers of the brain). She made the decision to switch to Hospice and will be entering a private care facility shortly.

37127_10100113131724919_6993175_n

The emotions and thoughts running through my mind these past few weeks have certainly been a whirlwind. I’m struggling to make sense of everything and to cope. I’m frustrated that nothing can be done about it. I’m angry that this happened to Mendie as she is such a kind and loving soul. My heart is breaking for my husband and his two brothers.

380521_10100793797305639_1006030486_n

I hope you know that I haven’t forgotten about you…just know that I am busy and have a lot going on right now. Know that I’m always thinking of things I want to share with you but that I’m having trouble finding time. Know that I’m struggling to deal with this situation and that it has taken a bit of a toll on me.

But know that I am actively working to cope and heal and get back to myself. Know that I’m tired of being in a rut and that I’m really putting effort into getting my happiness back!

I’m not sure how much I will blog about this situation. I will do my best to strike a balance between sharing with you and protecting my family during this personal and emotional time. Just please bear with me and please cherish those that you love as you really never know how long you’ll have them.

7 thoughts on “Mendie update + dealing with grief

  1. My heart goes out to you, Shelley. You are so sweet to think to update your readers. We’ll be here. Just take the time you need.

    A good friend of mine recently received a similar sentence (1-3 months). As much as I hate to admit that I needed it, I feel grateful for the reminder that there is a limit on my time with her. I’ve lost people in my life without having that chance to say goodbye, and it haunts me. So, that’s what I keep telling myself when I wrestle with sadness – and there’s no limit to sadness and heartache when you are losing someone you love: I am grateful because I get to say goodbye.

    *hugs*

  2. I’m so sorry, Shelley. Take all the time you need; don’t forget that we love and support you no matter what! Sending thoughts of peace your family’s way ❤

  3. Don’t spend a second feeling guilty trying to balance all your ‘shoulds’ and ‘coulds’. I pray that you and your family are able to take this time and cherish each moment. May God give Mendie, your husband, and you peace and strength.

  4. I am constantly thinking of you, Steven, his brothers and Mendie. Hang in there and just do whatever you feel like doing. Love to all of you.

Leave a Reply

