Prepping for health

Happy Monday friends! I am in a fabulous mood today. I think it had to do with the fact that I pretty much slept the entire weekend. It was much needed.

I just could not get my energy going last week and I think the time change (vacation + daylight savings) had me off for quite a few days. But alas I’m feeling great now.

So great, that I actually woke up at 5:30 for some exercise this morning! I love AM workouts and wish my gym opened up earlier but 30 minutes on the manual treadmill sure was a nice way to start the day.

photo (2)

it’s a terrible picture, I know

Another way to feel excited for the week ahead is to go in prepped and ready for health. Below is my meal/workout “guide” for the week: I prefer to use guides rather than strict schedules. This is a list of food I can make with what we have and exercises that sound good.

I really don’t like to lock myself into certain things on certain days because then I inevitably feel guilty when I’m not feeling it. This allows me more freedom while still having a plan.

I may not eat all of the meals or do all of the workouts but that’s okay. I just like to go in with a game plan so I’m not staring blankly into the fridge or moseying around at the gym without a real purpose.

Remember, sometimes being healthy is work but you are so very worth it!

IMG_2825

Meal/Workout Guide for week of 3.18

(all vegan)

Breakfasts

Vegan ONO

Cookie dough cereal with almonds/banana

Green smoothies (strawberry ginger/mango pineapple)

AM snacks

Fruit (cantaloupe, grapefruit, apples, blackberries)

Make a homemade bar of some sort? Or amazeballs

Lunches

Leftovers

Veggies, hummus, pita

Simple salad with honey mustard dressing and hempseeds/avocado

PM snacks

Veggies & hummus
apple + PB

Dinners

Roasted Buddha bowl

Pita with field roast sausage (a vegan and yummy brand available at health food stores), caramelized onions/bell pepper. Side of veggies & salad

Chinese tofu and rice with broccoli

“Cheeseburger salad”

Desserts

Mango sorbet

Workouts

Hot yoga

Full body strength session x2-3

HIIT sprints

Epic cardio

Pilates

Spin?

Run 3+ miles

Click the links for recipes

And now, because I feel really guilty about being a terrible crazy cat lady – here are some kitty pictures!

IMG_2832

Sampson wants some vegan chocolate chip cookies and my nails want a manicure

IMG_2836

Rockie wants it to snow again because that yard is looking awful bare

One of these days I will get my Hawaii pictures organized to share – but today ain’t that day. I’m gonna go ace a Microbiology exam real quick and then settle in for Bones & Castle. I don’t watch much TV anymore but these are my two can’t miss shows – and they just happen to be on the same night!

Hope your Monday is going well and I hope you took/take the time to really invest in your health. You will be so glad you did!

Leave a Reply

