Mango Oatmeal

I still have Hawaii on my mind. I’m craving anything and everything tropical meaning I’ve eaten tons of banana, pineapple, mango and coconut this week! Lucky for me there was a huge sale on mangoes so I stocked up. I froze most of them for mango sorbet but saved one for a tropics inspired oatmeal breakfast on Saturday.

Oatmeal might not be the first thing you think of when you want to use up a tropical fruit, but it’s a very delicious and satisfying combination – I also enjoy pineapple oats from time to time. The hempseeds are optional, but add a great source of plant protein without distracting from the mango flavor.

 

IMG_3424

Mango Oatmeal

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 2/3 – 1 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 mango, diced
  • 1 tbsp. hempseeds
  • 1/2 tbsp coconut oil
  • Sprinkling of shredded coconut

In a pot over medium heat, combine oats and almond milk. Cook until desired creaminess. Top oats with mango, hempseeds, coconut oil and shredded coconut. Enjoy!

…………………………………………………

I’ve been really focusing on vegan, whole foods lately and this is a great representation of a healthy and balanced vegan breakfast (that works for me). My main goal is prime digestive health and this dish is just overflowing with hearty plant fiber. The combination of whole grains, healthy fats and plant protein keep me full for hours. That doesn’t mean I don’t eat an AM snack anyway…but that’s a whole different story.

Don’t worry about the “protein” factor either (although this dish has about 10 grams of plant protein) – all foods have protein and as long as you eat a varied, whole-foods diet, you will be getting a good amount of protein.  I know a lot of magazines/weight-loss programs recommend 25 grams of protein per meal, but I personally think that is just too much – too much protein can be bad for your kidneys and digestive health. Plus your body can only assimilate so much at a time – you know those “45 grams of protein” shakes? You pee a lot of that protein right out so it’s a waste of money.  

Random breakfast rant complete. If you want more ideas for easy vegan breakfasts just check out this post. Have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

