Meal Idea: Vegan Cheezeburger Salad

Today I have more of an idea than an actual “recipe” – in fact, that’s what I have most of the time. Just ideas. I rarely share them because I’ve always though if it’s not an original recipe, maybe it’s a waste of time.

But I realize now that is a ridiculous thought! The point of this blog is to share healthy and fun vegan food with you all. 99% of the time, I’m not creating a meal based off of a recipe…I’m just making something that’s easy, nutritious and tasty. In that respect, I resolve to share more of my simple meal ideas with you guys. Because I imagine that you aren’t always in the moods for full recipes either.

The first meal idea I have for you is one that I’ve been enjoying quite a bit the last few weeks. It was born from leftovers and a desire to eat some greens. Instead of making another veg burger I decided just to throw my usual burger ingredients in a big mixing bowl with some greens and call it a burger salad.

You can most definitely vary the ingredients based on what you have and what you enjoy on your burger. Leftover sweet potato is also really good in this salad.

IMG_2825_thumb.jpg

Vegan Cheezeburger Salad

  • Large base of greens (I used a mix of spring greens and spinach)
  • Onion, diced
  • Tomato, diced
  • 1/4 avocado
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon
  • Generous amount of nutritional yeast
  • Veggie burger of choice
  • Vegan “bacon bits” (TVP)

Cook veggie burger as instructed. Combine all other ingredients together and toss well – until avocado is smushed and acts as a dressing. If you need a little somethin’ to get it going consider using 1-2tsp olive oil. Top salad with crumbled burger and enjoy.

I served with 1/2 toasted English muffin topped with vegan butter and a shake of garlic powder and salt.

What are your favorite burger toppings? Do you think you’d like burger salad?

One thought on “Meal Idea: Vegan Cheezeburger Salad

  1. Pingback: Meal Idea: Buffalo Cauliflower (Salad) | Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

