How to burn 400 calories in 30 minutes

Holy smokes, folks! I managed to break a hardcore sweat today after work, all in the comfort of my own home. All in all I burned 450 calories (warm-up included)! Before I get to the workout, how about some cute kitty pictures?

Sambin

Sampson being ridiculous

IMG_3448

Rockie soaking up some sun

…………………………………………………………………………

Okay so just how do I know that I burned 402 calories during my workout? Well I bought a Polar Heart Rate Monitor to start tracking my workouts. It was a small investment and well worth it since I like to see hard numbers and results of my efforts.

When calculating the calories burned, the monitor uses my specific information like height, weight, age and maximum heart rate. So just because I burned 400 cals doesn’t mean you will. But it’s probably a good approximation (just know that these #s are not based on that mythical 130lb woman that every other magazine uses).

I promise that I probably won’t turn into one of those people that blogs/instagrams a pic of their calories burned EVERY SINGLE DAY. Did you know that a workout still counts even if you don’t post it on twitter/facebook/instagram? Well, maybe…I need to go check my facts really quick.

The workout:

Warmup of choice – I walked on my manual treadmill

Complete each of the following moves  for 60 seconds, without stopping to rest in between each move. I used 15lb dumbbells.

  • Forward lunge with bicep curl
  • V-up crunches
  • Plie squats with shoulder press
  • Oblique v-ups, right side
  • Deadlift with alternating leg press
  • Oblique v-ups, left side
  • Bridge with chest press
  • Toe taps with weight

Follow it with one tabata round of jumping jacks, high knees, star jumps and burpees. (Remember a tabata sequence is 20 seconds all out followed by 10 seconds of rest for 8 rounds total)

Rest one minute. Repeat twice

photo

warning: this workout has the potential to make your hair gain 3 inches of height

Okay okay…all you savvy people who have a 4th grade education and above are saying YOU LITTLE LIAR THAT’S A 36 MINUTE WORKOUT!! Well technically yes it is. But when you factor in the rest times you are only actually working for 30 minutes. See what I did there?

30 minutes. 36 minutes. Tomato-Tomahto. You’re still getting your heart rate up, burning calories and sweating it out for glorious skin.

I’m off to make dinner and some green juice. I ended up with a million collard greens this week so I’m making a huge batch of collard-kale lemonade. Happy Tuesday evening.

2 thoughts on “How to burn 400 calories in 30 minutes

  1. I would love to try this workout! Could you explain how to so the dead lift with alternating leg press? I know what they each are I just don’t understand what you mean haha
    P.S. I love your kitty pictures!! To cute!!

Leave a Reply

