The great pantry cleanout

Well make that pantry, fridge and freezer.

Happy Sunday to you!! I know I haven’t been on here very regularly for the past few months but I’ve been busy with work, school and random life stuff. I try and want to blog more but for now I’ll just do it when it feels right.

Hopefully things will calm down once school is over (think I’m gonna skip the summer class I had planned). I find out about Nursing School by the end of May so I’m waiting anxiously for my letter!

IMG_3486

I’m here today talking about my big pantry-fridge-freezer cleanout! We are trying to cut back on grocery costs (it’s ridiculous how much we spend) so I decided to take this week to clean out as much food as possible from our pantry, fridge, and freezer. I have plenty on hand to have a nutritious and filling week – plus I get the bonus of cleaning up and making more room.

This morning I took pen and paper around to see what all we had lying around.

Pantry:

Oats, nuts, seeds, goji berries, veggie broth, tahini, chickpeas, brown rice, quinoa, brown rice pasta

IMG_3493

Freezer:

Edamame, green beans, broccoli, blueberries, grapes, mangoes, strawberries, banana, sunflower seeds, pepitas

IMG_3487

Fridge:

Almond milk, hempseeds, coconut water, onion, celery, cabbage, carrots, brussels sprouts, spinach, tomatoes, grapefruit, apples, kiwis

IMG_3489

Meal Plan

And from there I pieced together an easy and healthy weekly meal guide to use up as much as possible!

Breakfasts

Mocha Protein Smoothie

Strawberry-goji-hemp smoothie

Mango-coconut-chia smoothie

Overnight oats in an empty almond butter jar

Muesli or “cookie dough” cereal

AM snacks

Almonds + kiwi or grapefruit

Apple + AB

Lunches

Lentil loaf with green veggies (green beans or broccoli) and a side salad

Leftovers

Free work lunch on Tuesday

PM snacks

Veggies & hummus

Dinners

Penne margarita (x2) from Self Drop10 challenge

Mustard chickpeas with brussels sprouts, and a brown rice/quinoa mix (x2)

Something random

Workouts

Full body strength session x2 (possibly just upper body/core)

2 HIIT cardio sessions on elliptical** (hopefully)

1 45 minute moderate cardio session

Pilates class?

Yoga for stretching

All I need to grab at the store tonight is hot sauce, mustard, a small container of rolled oats, an onion and some dried lentils. I should be able to grab all that for $10 or less! What an easy way to save a little cash and not let any foods go to waste. I’m in the spring cleaning mood for sure and our food supply was my first victim.

As far as my workouts go – those are just hopefuls. I’ve got a couple of big school projects that are taking first priority this week and will workout when I can. Plus – and I’m gonna talk about this more later – I found out last week that I have a torn meniscus in my left knee so I need to be careful about injuring it further. I’m still trying to come up with a workout plan that will be low-impact but not feel like a waste of time!

Time to go work on my infectious diseases paper for Microbiology – I’m definitely gonna enjoy a mocktail after I turn that sucker in!

photo

One thought on “The great pantry cleanout

Leave a Reply

