Meal Idea: Black bean salad with mango sauce

I felt like I was on a blogging roll the past two weeks…at least compared to how little I have been blogging so far this year. And then wouldn’t you know it, almost a week passes. Whoops!

Funny thing is that I had tons of posts half written. No time to share like the present.

Zia

I have an easy meal idea for you today. Much like the Vegan Cheezeburger Salad or Breakfast Muesli  this is more of an idea than a steadfast recipe. It’s based off of one of my favorite restaurant meals here in town – the black bean salad bowl at Zia (pictured above). Zia is our local Chipotle. It’s fresh Mexican food made fast and Zia even uses a lot of local and organic ingredients.

I decided to save a little money by making the dish at home. I prepped up a ton at the beginning of the week…enough for three work lunches and one huge dinner.

Salad components

  • Chopped romaine
  • Chopped cilantro
  • Chopped red cabbage
  • Black beans
  • Brown rice
  • Pico (a combination of diced tomato, diced white onion, minced garlic and lime juice)
  • Mango “sauce”

For the mango sauce: combine 1 diced mango with 1/4 diced red onion, two diced jalapenos and the juice of 1 lime. Then blend up two very ripe mangos and combine all together for a chunky and saucy dressing.

IMG_3543

In the time that it took me to cook the brown rice, I had all my components prepped and ready to go. That means it only took me 35 minutes to have 4 fresh meals just waiting to be eaten.

IMG_3544

It literally took me a minute to throw it all together for work.

IMG_3550

When you’re ready to eat, just heat up the brown rice and beans and throw them on the salad. Then top with mango sauce. Yum.

salad

For a heartier dinner, I added in some avocado and served the salad with chips.

photo (1)

This beautiful meal is a feast for the eyes as well! Hope it inspires you to prep ahead so you can enjoy fresh meals in minutes.

3 thoughts on “Meal Idea: Black bean salad with mango sauce

  1. Pingback: Daily eats with calorie counts | Mile High Healthy

  2. Pingback: Back to Basics | Mile High Healthy

  3. Pingback: Meal Idea: Buffalo Cauliflower (Salad) | Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

