Cinnamon-raisin-banana protein pancake + my technique

I have a bit of a love affair with protein pancakes. They are a delicious and filling way to start the day and just like oatmeal and smoothies, the possibilities of flavors and toppings are endless. However, I’ve never actually shared my protein pancake "recipe" or technique with you guys. Honestly protein pancakes are a dime a dozen online and on blogs so I never really felt the need.

This Cinnamon-Raisin-Banana pancake changed all that (cue dramatic music). It’s sooooo good that I just couldn’t help but share my recipe! I also figured it was time to give you my basic recipe along with some ideas for toppings to keep things interesting and fresh. I tried to simplify all of the recipes I saw so I can just throw and go with the ingredients – I don’t like having to measure stuff out especially in the morning and I really can’t handle recipes with too many ingredients. I’ve also shared my "technique" below as there really is an art to cooking a protein pancake and not a protein scramble – the secret it patience!

Basic Protein Pancake

  • 1 banana
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 scoop brown rice protein powder
  1. Smush banana with fork. Add egg whites and whisk. Stir in the protein powder making sure to combine till you have a wet mix (adding a tiny splash of almond milk if you need more liquid).
  2. You can also throw this all in the blender if you’d like – I highly recommend using a blender if you are making this in a waffle maker as the smooth consistency makes all the difference. For a skillet pancake, smushing it all up with a fork is great.

img_4171

Technique

Mix up the batter.

IMG_3598

Once you have your mix, pre-heat a small skillet on medium high for at least a minute. Spray a dab of non-stick spray or use coconut oil to grease things up. Pour all of your batter in, turn the heat down to medium and WALK AWAY. This is the most important part. You will be looking at this pancake thinking how you just cannot wait to eat it. It smells so good and your mouth will water. You will want to hurry the process up and flip it but DO NOT.

Use this time to get your toppings ready or whip up a creamy iced coffee. Trust me.

IMG_3599

After a few minutes have passed (seriously at least 3) check on the pancake. It will have "set up" and bubbles will be forming. You really want the majority of the pancake to set before you flip it or things can get messy. Once you are sure, use a flat spatula and flip over – I find the quicker, the better…no hesitation!

From here, you only have a minute or so for the rest of the pancake to cook. Just shake the pan to see if the pancake slides around, this is my indication that it’s good to go. Flop on to a plate and top.

It’s important to note that how your pancake turns out will vary by the size of eggs and ripeness of banana you use. I prefer less ripe bananas – they tend to make a heartier pancake. Also, I’ve only ever used brown rice protein powder so I’m not sure how any other kind would work.

Topping Ideas

I love spreading nut butter on the pancake right when it’s done cooking – that way it gets all melty and swoon worthy. Peanut butter is my favorite but a drippy almond butter comes in at a close second. "Peanut sauce" made from PB2 is also pretty good.

img_1773

almond butter & blueberries

Fresh fruit is another wonderful topping. Thinly sliced banana, fresh berries or finely diced apple are all great toppings. If you want syrupy fruit without added sugar, place a bowl of frozen strawberries and blueberries in the fridge overnight. They get juicy and create a thick little syrup that helps make pancakes moist (in lieu of real syrup).

IMG_4332

Sometimes on weekends I throw in a handful of chocolate chips to take it over the top!

img_68391

………………………………………………………………………………..

And now, for the recipe that finally inspired this long overdue post…

Cinnamon Raisin Banana Protein Pancake

  • 1 large banana
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 scoop protein powder
  • Ground cinnamon
  • Splash of vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp. raisins, divided
  • Peanut butter, optional
  1. Mix together 3/4 of the banana with the eggs, protein, generous shakes of cinnamon, vanilla extract and 1 tbsp. of the raisins.
  2. Cook according to the technique above.
  3. Top hot pancake with peanut butter, the remaining 1/4 of the banana (very thinly sliced) and additional 1 tbsp. raisins. Shake more cinnamon over the top.

CRB Pancake

Goes really well with a hot cuppa coffee.

Hope that helped with any protein pancake questions you might have – let me know if you decide to make your own!

One thought on “Cinnamon-raisin-banana protein pancake + my technique

  1. Pingback: Raspberry-Orange-Dark Chocolate Protein Waffle/Pancake | Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

