Chocolate Cherry Protein Soft Serve

Oh you guys.

IMG_3647

If you haven’t noticed (and how could you not?) things on the blog have been a bit quiet lately. I’ve just been busy and lazy and uninspired. When I started blogging over two years ago, I was all about new recipes on the blog – granted, a lot of them were smoothies (seriously though smoothies are da bomb).

I was in the beginnings of my vegan journey and I was so excited and passionate about food and cooking. I couldn’t believe the healthy foods you could make without animal products and I just wanted to share them with everyone! But inevitably that fire waned and I fell into a comfortable rut of foods to eat, leading to a lack of kitchen inspiration for new recipes. I briefly reignited that flame last November with Vegan MOFO and it was a fun (albeit pricey and busy) month of new recipes and food posts.

I’d like to find that passion and fire again. I love to cook and I love food and anything related to it (thinking about food, looking at food, planning what food to cook/eat, shopping for food…you name it). Come August, I’m going to be pretty busy settling into the role of student and working my booty off to get good grades and I don’t know how much free time I’ll have. So for the rest of the summer, I vow to be more exciting in the kitchen and on the blog!

That excitement starts today with this fun variation on a favorite MHH recipe – Vegan Banana Protein Soft Serve aka being able to justify "ice cream" for breakfast.

I was inspired to try this flavor combo by Buzzfeed of all places and it was just as good as I hoped. This bowl of creamy, sweet goodness made the perfect summer breakfast. Halve the portions for a perfect treat or post-workout snack. Leave the protein powder out completely for a scrumptious dessert option.

IMG_3645

Chocolate Cherry Banana Protein Soft Serve

  • 1.5 frozen bananas
  • 1/2 cup frozen cherries, divided
  • 1/2-1 scoop protein powder (I love Perfect Fit a raw, vegan powder)
  • 1 tbsp. cacao powder*
  • Splash of almond milk
  • 1 tbsp. chocolate chips
  • Hempseeds, optional
  1. Place bananas in a food processor. Run until the mixture gets a bit crumbly (see this post for photos).
  2. Add in 1/4 cup of the cherries along with protein powder and cacao powder and a splash of almond milk, if needed. Run until smooth.
  3. Pulse in remaining cherries and chocolate chips, leaving those a bit chunky.

Serve topped with additional chocolate if desired and hempseeds for added protein and some satisfying fats.

IMG_3651

I just finished a hot and sweaty 3 miles and am really thinking about making this again for dinner….just maybe! Hope you all have a wonderful night and do think about having this for breakfast.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Cherry Protein Soft Serve

  1. Pingback: Back to Basics | Mile High Healthy

  2. Pingback: Veggies for breakfast, ice cream for dinner | Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

