Why consistency is so important

Happy Monday! I hope you had a wonderful weekend and are feeling refreshed this morning. We had a great weekend in our neck of the woods. Friday night was date night and we went out for sushi, a mountain drive and the late showing of World War Z (love Brad Pitt). Saturday we went tubing down the river and I didn’t even break my tailbone this time! We also had friends over Saturday night for burgers – I made this delicious bean burger for myself. I spent yesterday being a mix of productive and lazy – cleaning, grocery shopping, meal prepping and laying on the couch. Perfection.
 
photo[1]
 
 
My question for you on this Monday morning is – how do you feel today? Did you have a healthy weekend or did you dive right into the “it’s the weekend, I’m gonna do what I want” pool? I got up and worked out on Friday morning – completing 3 rounds of Malibooty and 2 rounds of Pura Vida but was not as productive on Saturday or Sunday. All I managed over the weekend was a 1.5 mile walk. Whoops. As far as eating goes I did manage a mix of healthy foods like vegan waffles and salads but also had my fair share of ice cream and movie candy. I didn’t go too crazy, but I definitely wasn’t as healthy as I am during the week.
 
photo[1
 
It’s completely understandable to diverge from your normal routine on the weekend. It’s when you cram in as much fun time as possible including going out to eat, to the movies, to a friend’s or even to happy hour. You are in relaxation mode and don’t want to take yourself too seriously. However, these seemingly little deviations in your healthy lifestyle can really make a big difference over time. This isn’t a new or profound thought – in fact I know that I’ve heard it before from the Tone It Up girls, but it really hit me today and sunk in. If you don’t focus on your health on the weekends you are missing out.
 
desk_calendar_2
 
Consider the month of June: Saturdays and Sundays make up 30% of the month. When you factor in Fridays (cause who doesn’t party it up on Friday night?) that adds up to 46% of the month where there is a high potential of throwing your healthy efforts out the window. I’m not saying you need to be super strict all of the time. What I’m saying is that overall consistency pays off. Moving your body more than laying on the couch. Eating your vegetables more than you choose to eat french fries. Drinking enough water more than you drink beer and soda. It’s the little, every day efforts that compromise the big, healthy picture
 
Just a friendly reminder to invest in your health all of the time – not just some of the time. When you consistently put your health first, you will reap the rewards. And you’re worth it! Have a great week.
One thought on “Why consistency is so important

  1. Ohhhh – that was good. Consistency. I can’t believe that the weekend is 46%. It took me a day to respond cuz I knew if I wrote it down, I would then “know” it! Thanks Shelley.

Leave a Reply

