Busy Bees

Hello friends! I’ve been meaning to get on here and post for a week but we have been crazy busy in my corner of the world. My dad and his wife were in town for a week exploring and making the most of Durango. I had a 4 day weekend and then took another day off during their trip so it was a nice little “stay-cation” for me as well.

942136_10200163207352191_740472870_n

I have a bunch of pictures/recipes/meal ideas to share for my July Back-to-Basics and I hope to get them on here this weekend. I won’t lie – the stay-cation came with a whole lot of eating out this week but I’ve been trying to balance restaurant meals with healthy, home cooked fare. If I don’t go out to eat for 2 months, I’d be just fine with that!

Other than eating my way through Durango, we have been busy little bees. We have been making the most of the beautiful Colorado summer.

1044181_10200163218792477_332515851_n

Steve has been busy fishing in every single pond we come across.

photo3

Sampson has been busy with his new healthy smoothie habit.

photo2

Rockie has been busy being a weirdo.

photo

And as for me, I’m up to the same old stuff. Just working and getting ready for school (lots of immunizations, paperwork and a drug test!). This weekend we will be resting, doing loads and loads of laundry, hiking and helping my friend make some baby meals – she could pop any day now!

998000_10200147756125920_237798491_n

I’m also starting to train for a half-marathon here in town in mid-October! I got the go ahead from my physical therapist and will be doing my first 3 mile run in months this weekend (up till now I’ve only been allowed 20 minutes at a time). I’m not making any lofty goals nor am I getting my hopes up on this race – I’m just going to start training and hope it all works out. I may have to run/walk part of the race but that’s okay, I’m just excited to have something on the calendar.

The first 5 weeks of my training plan look like this:

Capture

I’m leaving it a bit loose as to the actual week-to-week layout of the workouts. I start with this “official plan” on Monday and will give a more detailed post on the plan and all that jazz.

I’ll be back in the near future with some meal updates, a smoothie recipe, re-cap of an awesome hike, training plan and more! Hope you have a wonderful Friday and a relaxing weekend.

Leave a Reply

