Mile High Healthy Vegan MoFo 2013–Busy Vegan

It’s Vegan MoFo time! I first participated in Vegan MoFo (aka Vegan Month of Food) last October and really enjoyed the extra push to generate some vegan food content on a consistent basis. I’m back in it again this year (although my info isn’t showing up on the MoFo website yet – I’m working on it).

Print

Last year’s theme was “Easy Vegan” and this year I’m going with the apropos “Busy Vegan”. You can check out a recap with links to all my 2012 MoFo posts here: Vegan MoFo Wrap Up.

IMG_0230

Vegan Mofo inspired me to create some of my all time favorite recipes!! Including (but certainly not limited to) the Texas Taco, Vegan Caprese Sandwich, Guacamole Kale Salad and the delicious Strawberry Ginger Smoothie with Sweet Lemon Cream

IMG_0860

excuse me while I put cashews and frozen strawberries on my grocery list…

Last year’s Easy Vegan theme was all about showcasing how easy healthy, plant-based food can be. This year will pick up on that theme but focus on quick and easy Vegan foods for those of us that are busy and can’t afford to spend a lot of time in the kitchen.

I have a pretty packed schedule this fall – 3 days of class and 3.5 days of work. I’m basically booked Sunday – Friday from 8AM – 5PM. And that doesn’t include time for homework, reading the millions of chapters we have each week, exercise and any personal time. Right now, it’s just not feasible for me to spend hours in the kitchen cooking elaborate meals (although I do love that).

I’m going to focus on foods that are FAST and EASY to make so I can spend less time cooking and more time learning about feeding tubes and diabetes. I can’t promise a ton of original recipes like last year. But I will promise plenty of posts on meal planning & meal prep ideas, day-to-day eats (so you can see how the Busy Vegan thing plays in my real life), and I will definitely feature my favorite easy recipes from other blogs and how I adapt them for my lifestyle.

Hope you’ll stick around! My first MoFo post will go up tomorrow and focus on a great make ahead meal option – the Tofu Scramble. As always, let me know if you have any questions/suggestions for posts and I’ll do my best.

2 thoughts on “Mile High Healthy Vegan MoFo 2013–Busy Vegan

  1. Pingback: Technical Difficulties | Mile High Healthy

  2. Pingback: Almond Joy overnight oats | Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

