Creamy Banana-Cacao Shake

Good evening! Or should I say good morning? I’m writing this on Tuesday night to post on Wednesday morning.  I just got done with a nice little 40 minute treadmill walk + reading session. Obviously I can’t go too fast or I’d fall off but I did get in 2 miles of walking after my 1 mile evening walk with Franco. 3 miles for the day ain’t too shabby!

Walking while reading is one of my new strategies to make sure I can get in everything I need from day to day. It’s hard to pick which is top priority: exercise or school. They are both so vital to my well being, so I’m trying to combine them when I can.

Print

Anyhoo, I’m back with a Busy Vegan Mofo post. When I first started the blog (over two years ago, say what!?) I was into smoothies. I mean really into smoothies. I posted smoothie “recipes” left and right. These days I don’t really consider smoothies as great recipe posts because they just aren’t that complicated. It has to be very good to make it to the blog (like my fav Strawberry-Ginger with lemon cream or the indulgent Salted Caramel Protein Shake). But back when I first got into smoothies – specifically green smoothies – I loved to post them because it was all so new and exciting!

This little ol’ recipe may not be new or exciting to some of you, but I’ve already enjoyed it 3x this week so I thought it was worth a mention. The key to this smoothie is creamy, homemade vanilla almond milk. Blend together 1 cup soaked almonds, 4 cups water, 4-6 dates and 1/2 vanilla bean. Strain and chill.

What better meal for a busy vegan than a nutritious and delicious smoothie? Just 60 seconds to satisfied.

photo

Creamy Banana-Cacao Shake

  • 1 cup homemade almond milk (recipe above)
  • 2 tbsp. pepitas
  • 1 scoop brown rice protein powder (I love Sunwarrior or Perfect Fit)
  • 1tbsp cacao powder (or cocoa powder)
  • 1.5 frozen bananas
  • ice

Blend all ingredients together. Thicker is good, it eats like a milkshake (but for breakfast!). This morning I added buckwheat and toasted coconut for a little added crunch. Oh and spinach for a nutrient boost…but of course!

IMG_4028

Off to finish my reading for the evening. Here’s to hoping I don’t fall asleep mid-chapter!!

One thought on “Creamy Banana-Cacao Shake

  1. Pingback: Almond Joy overnight oats | Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

