Almond Joy overnight oats

Happy Vegan Mofo…I’m back! I still can’t figure out Windows Live Writer and my camera still won’t work, but I can post.

940x198_g1_header_thumb.jpg

I’m back this morning with a quick and easy vegan breakfast – maybe you can enjoy it tomorrow? There’s no easier breakfast for a busy vegan than overnight oats (well maybe a Creamy Banana Shake?). They are prepped and ready in 2 minutes and provide a great grab-in-go breakfast for those hurried mornings. Plus overnight oats are endlessly customizable…just check out my recipes page for more ideas!

photo2

Almond Joy Overnight Oats (makes 1 serving)

  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1-2tbsp chia seeds
  • 1tbsp cocoa powder
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 banana, sliced
  • 1 square dark chocolate, diced (optional)
  • Sprinkling of sliced almonds
  • 1-2tbsp toasted coconut (see below)
  1. Stir oats, chia and cocoa powder together.
  2. Add milk and stir until well combined. Add in sliced banana and refrigerate overnight.
  3. Before serving, top with chocolate, almonds and coconut (coconut can be toasted in a 400 degree oven for 5 minutes or until browned).

photo

I’m off to enjoy the rest of my weekend with some sweet Franco snuggles. Happy Sunday!!

2 thoughts on “Almond Joy overnight oats

  1. Hi! I want to ask….where do you go to nursing school? I recently moved to Denver, and I’m thinking about doing the same thing. How were the pre reqs? Stressful? I hope your first year is going well!

    • Christine – sorry it has taken me so long to respond but I’ve been rather busy!! I’m down in Durango, CO now going to school through PCC. There is an affordable Nursing Program at Arapahoe Community College in Littleton if you are interested. It’s a 2 year RN program. It’s going well so far, I’m really enjoying it! The pre-reqs were fine, very science heavy. I did them all online so I could still work full-time and did well in them. I’m still working now too and haven’t found it too stressful. That being said, I don’t have any children so I think it makes things a bit easier. I would recommend going…I can tell I’m gonna love it!

Leave a Reply

