Meal Idea: Buffalo Cauliflower (Salad)

Wow. 2 posts in one week month. Lucky you.

I had a pretty great day today – our test this morning wasn’t graded so I slept in until 6:30 which is a miracle (I’m a 5am-er now). In between classes I went for a 3 mile walk and it’s just absolutely gorgeous out there.

photo1

Anywhoo I’m here to actually share a recipe (GASP!). Well a sort-of recipe. More like a meal idea – do you even remember when I used to share those? They are fun recipes that don’t really qualify as a recipe…just an idea from me to you. Tostadas, vegan cheezeburger salad, muesli and black bean mango salad are meal ideas you may want to check out.

So one thing I really missed as a vegan/veg was buffalo chicken. Like breaded and fried buffalo chicken wraps from Buffalo Wild Wings. It’s the kind of food that when you crave it, YOU CRAVE IT. Kinda like sushi. So it’s nice to have a plant-based option for those kinds of cravings. Sure you can crisp up tofu and douse in buffalo sauce (something that I do a lot).

Or you can go one step healthier and make a buffalo veggie that’s pretty darn tasty.

photo

Buffalo Cauliflower

  • Head of cauliflower, cut into bite sized pieces
  • Olive oil, to coat
  • Favorite buffalo sauce
  1. Rub just a bit of olive oil on cauliflower pieces – enough to help them brown. Roast in a 400 degree oven for 15-20 minutes (I like mine crispier). Toss to coat in buffalo sauce and put back in the oven for another couple of minutes. Done and done.
  2. Serve as you would regular wings – on a salad, in a wrap or just dunked in ranch.
  3. For a healthier ranch dressing simply mix greek yogurt or non-dairy vegan yogurt with a bit of lemon juice or apple cider vinegar, garlic powder and herbs of choice. I use the herbs from a green goddess herb mix. Whatever tickles your fancy (dill is a big one, but I’m not a dill fan). Voila, dipping sauce or dressing.

Give it a try – it sure is tasty!

3 thoughts on “Meal Idea: Buffalo Cauliflower (Salad)

  1. This looks so much more appealing than the breaded buffalo cauliflower I’ve seen. I made the breaded sort once, and it was a little bit too bready for me. I’m definitely going to try your version!

  2. Pingback: Daily Eats 5.19.14 | Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

