Weekend Waffles (vegan)

Chances are you’ve probably already eaten breakfast today, but I’m going to share these waffles with you anyway. You could always plan to make them next weekend. Hell, they’re really so easy that you can eat them any day of the week.

photo 3

(shown here with 1 tbsp. peanut butter & 1 tbsp. agave syrup)

Whole grain, vegan waffles. Yum! You’ve seen a very similar variation with my Vegan Protein Waffles but in case you’re the kind of person who doesn’t have organic brown rice protein powder just lying around…here’s the “normal” version for you.

Vegan Weekend Waffles

  • 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour (or flour of choice)
  • 1/2 cup non dairy milk
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • Mix-ins or toppings of choice
  1. Mix together flour, milk and baking soda. If using whole wheat flour, be careful how you measure it or your mixture can become super thick. I find it’s best to spoon the flour lightly into the measuring cup. You don’t want to just scoop because that’s a lot of extra flour packed in there tight…trust me this does not a good waffle make. If your mix does become too thick, just add more milk and stir until it’s the desired consistency.
  2. Cook in a waffle maker. Done and done.

photo 1

photo 2

Bare bones, this waffle will run you about 250 calories or so. The variation above (my favorite, made with organic soymilk) is about 430 calories – but keep in mind it contains 14 grams of plant protein! It also has complex carbohydrates for energy and healthy fats for satiety.

photo 2

I like to mash in a banana and a chopped up piece of dark chocolate from time to time. I did this once and actually input the information into a calorie counting app (keep in mind I was heavy handed with the PB) and that sucker was over 600 calories! Whoops, that’s a bit too much for my liking. Well, unless it’s a special occasion or exam day. 😉

The variations are endless. Serve plain or with your favorite fruit.

photo 1

I started my day with an absolutely amazing walk. The sun was shining, birds were chirping, and it just felt so perfectly perfect outside. Then I looked at the temp and it was only 34! Man, am I a Coloradoan now or what.

Franco

Y’all have a fabulous day. I’m off to work to get ahead because it’s gonna be a s

Leave a Reply

