My healthy living spiral

I’ve got a problem. It’s called the healthy living week-end spiral. Pretty much this is when I start off with a bang on Sunday and things are great: I’m eating salads, working out and feeling awesome.

photoef

 instagram selfie

Then, come Friday, I’m exhausted and don’t want to move let alone exercise. There’s no energy for cooking so pizza it is. And I’m so worn out and worn down that I seriously sleep for at least 11 hours. Every Friday.

photo 1

typical Friday night junk food run

I mean, just look at the difference in my Fitbit stats from a Sunday to a Friday….I think the evidence speaks for itself.

Capture

It’s something I’ve definitely been struggling with this semester. Between work, class and clinicals there’s just so much going on that sometimes I have zero energy left to give.

A typical week includes:

  • working 8 hours on Sunday
  • class from 9-4 on Monday (and sometimes I go to work from 415-715)
  • clinicals and/or work all day Tuesday
  • hospital clinicals from 6-4 on Wednesday/Thursday (and sometimes these are out of town)
  • exam at 9 on Friday followed by 8 hours of work
  • sleep 11-13 hours Friday night
  • chores/catch up stuff on Saturday
  • Rinse and repeat

My eats have gone from this….

Back-to-Basics2.jpg

To more like this…

photo 5

And my workouts have gone from 6 days a week to sometimes only 2-3. Granted, I still walk Franco at least a mile pretty much every day, but leisurely strolls just don’t do for me what HIIT or lifting weights can.

photo 1

he sure is a happy workout partner!

I’ve talked before (probably many times) about how fitness and healthy living tend to ebb and flow depending on life’s situations [for me at least]. The important thing is that they flow most of the time but I’ve lately been stuck on the ebb cycle.

The first step in getting it together again is to just recognize and acknowledge that things are not how they should be. I know and have known for a while that I’m not living my healthiest and happiest life lately. I’ve kept putting off and putting off cleaning up my act. And then the other night I was sitting down to dinner and it was like I had gotten sucker punched…

photo 2

Yes, dinner was a brownie sundae with extra whipped cream. I was eating this while sitting on the couch and reading Fitness Magazine (after having skipped that day’s workout because I wasn’t feeling it). A major motivating factor for finally losing weight and getting healthy was the fact that I felt like I was on the sidelines of my life. I knew how I wanted to live but instead of actually living it I was only reading about and imagining it. Reading a magazine like this while obviously not actually taking it to heart was the trademark of who I was. And here I am – over 4 years later and after all that hard work – and I felt like I was right back to my old self.

I know exactly what I need to do to feel my best and yet I’m not doing it and haven’t been for a while. I’m just finishing up the last of 12 weeks straight of clinicals and things have pretty much been less than optimal for the last 2 months.

Somehow I haven’t put on too much weight. I guess I can thank the fact that I still do work out some and eat salads once in a while. But all the same I am about 5/6lbs heavier now than I was after I lost 50lbs a few years ago for my wedding. Things were a bit rough during the first semester of nursing school but have definitely taken a turn for the worse since our Maui trip in January.

photo 4 (5)

It’s not just about what I weigh. It’s also about how much energy I have, how clear my thoughts are, how well I sleep and how bright I glow. All of these things have been diminished by junk food and skipping workouts. I’m always tired, I can’t ever think straight, I don’t sleep near as well as I used to (in fact some nights I swear I don’t sleep at all) and my skin is terrible and patchy.

All I know is this….I KNOW I can feel and look a whole lot better. And I know I need to get my shit together because I don’t think I can last through another year of school on the path that I am on. Thankfully there are only 2 weeks of school left and then it’s sweet summertime. This gives me about 3 months to reset my body, mind and energy before things ramp back up for the fall semester.

I look at this picture from my best friend’s wedding and I want to be that girl again. She was a green smoothie drinking, plant eating, running, lifting, sleeping, energetic and glowing version of me. [she was probably also a bit photoshopped/edited but I did feel as great as I look 🙂 ]

284678_10150260938971065_6212698_n

Luckily I know myself and what works and I know a lot about nutrition and fitness (thanks to much research and trial and error) so I definitely already have the tools to make a change.

As this post has already gone on quite a bit, I’ll leave my actual plan for another day. I’ll be blogging way more now that things have settled down and I plan to share my journey back to health with you all.

Coming up on Mile High Healthy:

  • the Bikini Series from Tone It Up
  • my goals in getting healthy again: yes I have a goal weight in mind and no I don’t think that’s a bad thing
  • cleaning up my eating act
  • more daily eats posts to share
  • figuring out a summertime exercise routine
  • organization (because I believe this is the first step in getting your whole life together)
  • natural beauty products and routines (my new hobby!)
  • A new and improved list of my top 10 must dos to feel my best
  • all of the books and resources that have helped me along the way
  • the dreaded but also still valuable “before & after pictures”
  • building a solid foundation for year 2 of nursing school and how I plan to stick with it
  • Much more!

I hope you’ll stick around as I get back into blogging. Now that I have more time on my hands, I promise the pictures will improve again too. For now the phone is the easiest/fastest method but I do plan to practice my photography and editing skills this summer.

Tell me: how many of you ebb & flow in health? Do you experience the healthy living spiral? How do you keep up your motivation? Are you a “diet” person or a “lifestyle” person? I want to know more about you all too!

5 thoughts on “My healthy living spiral

  1. Pingback: Tone It UP Bikini Series 2014 | Mile High Healthy

  2. Pingback: Mile High Healthy

  3. Pingback: Goals Goals Goals | Mile High Healthy

  4. Pingback: Daily Eats…I’m really hungry but not worried about it | Mile High Healthy

  5. Pingback: I am what I chose to become | Mile High Healthy

Leave a Reply

