Grapefruit Mocktail

I quit drinking almost 4.5 years ago. It’s something I mention in passing on the blog and one day (I’m thinking 5 years of sobriety) I’ll tell you all about it, deal?

As a teetotalling twenty-something, I find that when I’m out I have to answer a lot of questions about why I’m not drinking. Pregnancy? Weight-loss? Am I crazy? I find the best way to avoid these questions (although I really don’t mind them) is by having a drink in my hand that looks like it could be alcoholic. That it’s not is my little secret. Well, ours now I guess.

I spend a lot of time drinking “mocktails” aka non-alcoholic cocktails, so I’ve recently gotten a little more inventive than the standard pineapple juice plus club soda that every bartender wants to give me when I say “something fun and non alcoholic please.” They all think they’re so clever 🙂

This one may not be the most exciting drink out there, but it sure is refreshing on a hot summer day and most bars and restaurants have the ingredients on hand. Make it for yourself the next time you feel like getting sassy minus the headache that can come with boozing it up.

Grapefruit Mocktail

Grapefruit Mocktail

  • Juice of 1/2 grapefruit
  • Club soda or sparkling water of choice
  • Squeeze of lime
  • Sweetener such as agave or stevia, optional

Mix all ingredients together. Enjoy this stirred, not shaken unless you feel like cleaning up exploded club soda!
P.S. —> I’ve updated my food section and tried to clean it up a bit. Check it out if you can. Working on fitness next.

One thought on “Grapefruit Mocktail

  1. That looks delish! I’m growing my own stevia, and add a few crushed leaves of that, mint, and some cucumber slices to ice water. Cool and refreshing. Now I may have to try adding club soda. Bubbles are always festive! I quit drinking almost 18 years ago, and try to always keep a glass of non-acoholic beverage nearby in case I get “thirsty”! I don’t miss the headaches one bit!

Leave a Reply

