Whole Foods March

Hello friends! We are knee deep in winter over here and loving every minute because we really need the moisture. However, my shoulders and abs are consistently sore from all of the shoveling.

photo 2

Franco’s favorite thing in the world is snow so he is in hog heaven!

photo 3

And thoroughly exhausted from all of the playing.

photo 1

I just wanted to stop in and share with you a little challenge/project I’ve got going for myself this month: Whole Foods March!

photo 1 (2)

This month, I’ve challenged myself to eat whole, healthful foods and avoid the processed shit. Basically, I don’t want to be eating junky foods with ingredients I can’t pronounce. I’m going to aim to eat mostly home cooked food made from scratch ingredients. However, for convenience sake I plan to include stuff like 100% whole wheat bread, almond milk, and foods that contain few ingredients, all of which I know. All vegetarian, mostly vegan. I’m just not into meat anymore at all (It’s been a while since I’ve eaten any).

I’ve been supremely inspired by Lindsay of Happy Herbivore! Her “Batch Cook Like a Boss” video lit a fire under my ass and I got started right away. Over the past few days I’ve gotten serious in the kitchen.

photo 3 (2)

From top left, I’ve made (and frozen most of it): brown rice in single serving bags, black bean burgers, homemade chocolate (priorities), dried chickpeas, banana chia muffins, golden sun dressing from Happy Herbivore Light & Lean, dried black beans, and marinara from Happy Herbivore Holidays & Gatherings.

Thanks to the magic of kitchen appliances, most of the cooking was super easy. In fact, as I was shoveling the driveway yesterday I had my rice cooker, pressure cooker and crockpot hard at work.

photo 4

This morning I enjoyed 2 banana chia muffins crumbled and warmed then topped with crunchy peanut butter, Greek yogurt, bananas and cinnamon.

photo 5

And for lunch out at a restaurant I was even able to enjoy a healthy, whole foods meal no problem. Steamed potato topped with black beans, cabbage, lettuce, pico, avocado, mango salsa, onion and cilantro.

I just wanted to see if any of y’all would like to join me? I know it’s already the end of the day but fear not you can start tomorrow…I won’t tell. Drop me a line if you’d like to be a part of it. I’m using hashtag #WholeFoodsMarch on instagram.

Have a great week!

2 thoughts on “Whole Foods March

  1. Gah! I need to clean up my eating and this sounds like a great way to kick start it! Plus, a little accountability always helps. Count me in, friend!

Leave a Reply

