More Whole Foods Eatin’ plus Fun Stuff

So whether or not you want to see more pictures of what I eat on a daily basis…it’s happening. Partly because I feel so inspired in the kitchen and must share and partly because I feel SO AMAZING this week! Dropping the processed shit is doing wonders for my mood, energy and body. I even ate all of these carbs last night and still woke up feeling leaner and lighter than ever… photo 2 (2) Do not fear the carb, my friend.

~~~~~~~~~

Some fun stuff…yesterday was officially my last clinical day of my nursing school career!!! It was technically supposed to be today but today’s clinical was cancelled due to stuff I can’t talk about cause of HIPAA. I can’t believe my clinicals are over. This has been the best and fasted two years of my life!!

I don’t want to jinx it because it’s not really set in stone yet…but I scored a preceptorship in the ICU at the hospital in Durango!! It all fell together by chance thanks to meeting an ICU nurse that grew up in Jacksonville, AR…the next town over from my hometown. I love finding my fellow southerners out here…they are my people. Word on the street is that if they really like a preceptee (real word?) then they might even hire them for a “grow your own” position…basically when you hire a new grad and train them up just how you want. HOW COOL IS THAT!

I’ve also applied for an ICU residency program at a hospital in New Mexico. This would also be an insanely amazing opportunity through a very competitive program. I have a phone interview today. Wish me luck.

I had honestly never given a second thought to working in critical care or in the ICU. Me? CRITICAL care? No way…I feel like I barely know anything about nursing (I hear this is common for new nurses 🙂 ). But, thanks to an encouraging ex sister-in-law and what I can only call random acts of fate from the universe…here I am. Exciting things are happening!

photo 1 (2)

I’m also participating in Happy Herbivore’s 100,000 steps challenge for March. It’s really encouraged me to monitor my activity and add in extra walks whenever possible. My goal is to hit 10k a day…so far so good!

Anyhoo, here are my eats from Tuesday.

Breakfast

photo 1

Tahini Date Shake with added spinach. I also used fresh vanilla bean which makes everything taste like heaven. I really enjoyed the flavor combo…it’s a nice change from the regular ol’ PB and banana.

Snack

photo 2

Tea time: Tone It Up 3 Ingredient Cookies with added walnuts and cranberries. Celestial Seasonings Lemon Zinger Tea, a new favorite.

Lunch

photo 3

Loaded Potato Madness. Pressure cooked potato topped with beans, salsa, lettuce, avocado, jalapenos and my easy “cheeze” sauce. Inspired by my recent eats at Zia.

Afternoon Snack

photo 4

Post run: banana chia muffin, grapes and homemade chocolate plus more tea.

Dinner

photo 5

Throw together salad: greens, veggies, hempseeds, apple, tofurky and Happy Herbivore Golden Sun Dressing.

As you can see…I’m not going hungry! I’m eating tons of fresh produce and homemade goodies and feeling great. How are y’all doing with Whole Foods March? Let me know!

2 thoughts on “More Whole Foods Eatin’ plus Fun Stuff

Leave a Reply

