Cinnamon Apple Oats with Coconut Butter

Chances are you’ve probably already eaten breakfast today. I know not everyone waits until 11am to eat breakfast.

IMG_4618

I’m lucky in that I can truly enjoy a lazy Saturday (and Sunday, Monday, etc). As you know, I’m not working during this last bit of nursing school and there’s also the no kids thing we’ve got going. So I’m allowed and able to snooze till ten and then have a long and leisurely morning breakfast ritual.

Today’s breakfast was something special. Just a simple bowl of oats, all dressed up. It didn’t hurt that I was able to enjoy it out on the patio! I may be pushing it…it is still a bit chilly…but compared to what we’ve had going on it seems almost balmy.

IMG_4632

We are enjoying some time out in the sun. I’ve even got the kitchen door open and am letting the fresh air in…although I’m sure that won’t last long as it’s only 60 in the house. Looks like I’m about to go build a fire.

Franco and Hula would like to stay out on the deck though.

IMG_4640

IMG_4634

Can you blame them?

The star of the show this morning was freshly made coconut butter. That shit is insanely expensive at the store ($13+!!) but yesterday I bought a $3 bag of organic shredded coconut and put it in the food processor for 7 minutes and voila…homemade heaven.

Cinnamon Apple Oats with Coconut Butter

Ingredients

  • 1/3 heaping cup oats
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • Splash vanilla extract
  • Generous shakes of cinnamon
  • Shredded apple (reserving some for topping)
  • Toppings: apple, walnuts, dried cranberries, coconut butter

Cook together on stove until desired consistency. I like to take mine off when it’s still a bit runny. See why here. Throw on toppings and generously drizzle with coconut butter.

IMG_4610

IMG_4621

Have a pleasant weekend!

3 thoughts on “Cinnamon Apple Oats with Coconut Butter

Leave a Reply

