How To Get Your GLOW On

You know that phrase “I don’t sweat, I glisten”? Um, yeah…that so does not apply to me. I sweat and I sweat bad. Sure, it’s embarrassing on an outing with your co-workers (like our mountain biking trip last week) but I really do love to sweat, it just makes me feel amazing!

Lately I have been getting my sweat on like no other….here is just a little proof!

IMG_6396IMG_6425IMG_7006

More impressive than the amount of sweat is the fact that I actually have different workout shirts on in all the pictures…that’s quite the feat. Also yes I know, I take a lot of self-pics; it’s only semi-embarrassing.

After the sweat comes the GLOW. In fact, it is GLOW workouts that have gotten me feeling so fabulous lately. So what is a GLOW workout? If you’ve been reading my blog for any length of time you will recall a little obsession I have with Jenn and her program For the GLOW. Jenn is an amazing lady: she is my nutritionist, trainer, friend, cheerleader, and therapist all rolled into one!

I have really been enjoying her workouts lately, specifically her EPIC cardio workouts. Being the wonderful person that she is, she has shared her EPIC formula on her blog (in fact, in finding that link I saw a bunch of free workouts: just visit www.everydayglow.com).

While I do enjoy an EPIC block or two (or 5!) on the elliptical or treadmill, it is my favorite type of workout to do at home. You don’t need a gym or any equipment to make it work for you.

For example, tonight – along with a couple of EPIC workouts designed by Jenn – I did a block that looked like this:

  • 1 minute alternating b/t 10 high knees and 10 jumping jacks
  • 1 minute alternating b/t bicycle crunches and toe taps*
  • 1 minute alternating b/t 10 high knees and 10 jumping jacks
  • 1 minute alternating b/t bicycle crunches and toe taps*
  • Tabata sequence with burpees, mountain climbers, jumping lunges, and plank jacks (repeat once)
  • 1 minute of dancing around like an idiot waiving my arms and scaring the cats
  • 1 minute of rest

*for toe taps lie on your back with legs straight up in the air and core “crunched” up, tap one foot on the ground at a time…don’t forget to breath

After the workout I was *glistening* quite a bit…

IMG_7115

Creepy shadow picture…

I really am feeling amazing, fitter than ever, and (I won’t lie) a little badass with all of these GLOW worthy workouts lately. You can experience these same feelings too as well as a total body and attitude transformation! Jenn has a fun program right now called the Body Transformation Technique that works wonders. I’m on day 21 of 30 right now!

I recently posted about making decisions based on my health and not my appearance and that is why I decided to do the BTT. Plainly put, I hadn’t been feeling my best lately. I felt puffy/bloated, sluggish, and kind of blah. But the workouts of the transformation technique have me feeling energized, light (through the middle especially, like a “cleaned out” feeling), and excited about my workouts…I crave EPIC now! I won’t lie and pretend that I’m not happy with the physical transformation but it is really just a pleasant side affect to the attitude transformation I have experienced.

I strongly urge you to check out For the GLOW and maybe give it a test drive. You don’t have to jump right into a 30 day fitness intensive -  Jenn also offers options like “Tone it in 10” and "The Flirt” because fitness and health are about consistent effort and progress, not total perfection. And for the foodie in you she offers up the Superfood Diet in regular, vegan, vegetarian, paleo, and raw versions! For the GLOW is now even doing monthly memberships – a great option for the curious.

I promise that I have not been paid to wax poetic about this program…I really do enjoy it and want you all to experience it as well. So go on – check out For the GLOW and tell Jenn I sent you!

2 thoughts on “How To Get Your GLOW On

  1. Pingback: Rebounding+Upper Body Circuit « Mile High Healthy

Leave a comment